Posted by: aediculaantinoi | April 13, 2012

Triskaidekaphilia…

At the present blog, there’s lots of “-phobias” that are dealt with on a regular basis: homophobia, biphobia, transphobia, paganophobia, etc. As a result, I just don’t have room for another type of -phobia in my life right now: unlike deities, there is never “room for one more” where irrational fears are concerned.

Furthermore, thirteen has been a very good number for me. In the roll lists of much of my educational career, I’d often be #13, and sometimes being #13 got me things that it wouldn’t have otherwise. I can’t say it’s been a “lucky number” by any stretch of the imagination, but it certainly hasn’t done me any harm over the years.

So, to take that lovely number, add it to a very good day of the week (Friday), and then have a recipe for disaster? Ridiculous. As a result, the present miscellany post is meant to spread some triskaidekaphilia rather than its opposite! I hope you agree that it accomplishes its goal! ;)

*****

On Monday the 13th of September in 2010, I posted about who might play Antinous in “the movie,” and one of the options I listed there was a young actor named Paul Iacono. Well, guess what? He just came out! And while this may not automatically mean that I now have a chance with him he’ll sign up for the role, nonetheless, he’s doing some specific work in the immediate future that will put him in the position of youth role-modeling in a gay-specific role, so that’s a good thing.

(We’ll leave the matter of his bisexuality, and the problematics of monosexuality, aside for the moment…but just note, I’ve noticed them, and wish there were a way forward on this matter that didn’t involve pissing everyone off…)

And, speaking of famous queer folks, if you have not seen nor heard about the interview Stephen Colbert did with Maurice Sendak (author of Where the Wild Things Are, which I’ve mentioned once before on this blog in relation to Shinto matters [!?!], and The Night-Kitchen, amongst many other things) a few months ago, GO AND LOOK AT IT IMMEDIATELY! It’s in two parts, and is hysterical! Sendak was an important influence upon my childhood, not only because of his books, but because one of the first art exhibits I ever went to at Seattle Center was some of his sculptural work (or sculptural work based on his art…I’m not sure which now, all these years later) during a grade school field trip. It gave me an appreciation for museums that I never would have otherwise had, most likely, since I’d been to so few or none up to that point in my life.

And speaking of some further queer folks, go and have a look at this post on The Wild Hunt to watch a film featuring Alex Sanders, an Ekklesía Antínoou Sanctus, lighting his crotch on fire! ;)

Well, that statement needs further unpacking, I think…

The film that is linked there is The Occult Experience, a 1985 film that is discussed further here by Chas Clifton. It features a number of different well-known pagan figures, including Alex Sanders (and, if I ever get to be his age during that film, and have hot acolytes helping me, I’ll be doing pretty well!), and another Sanctus, Herman Slater of The Magickal Childe in New York City (though he is not identified as such in the film–but it’s the rather unfortunately pronounced Samain ritual in the street toward the beginning of the film). Other notables include Margot Adler, Janet Farrar, Selena Fox (all of whom I’ve met!), Anton LaVey of the Church of Satan, Michael Aquino of the Temple of Set (who I remember seeing on television around this time in the 80s on a local Seattle talk show), Isaac Bonewits, Lady Olivia Robertson of the Fellowship of Isis (and her lovely castle in Ireland!), Z. Budapest, Luisah Teish, Joan Halifax, Charles Tart, Michael Harner, Stanislav Grof, and H. R. Giger.

While a great deal could be said about this film, and its positive as well as negative aspects, one thing stuck out to me as I watched it. No matter how “silly” or “quaint” some of the pagan and occultist bits of it may have seemed to some viewers–and, almost everything that is out-of-context as the bits in this film were are–it all looked downright wonderful, lovely, cozy, and genuinely caring in comparison to the evangelical Christian “exorcism” bit right in the middle of the film. Though the transpersonal psychology and holotropic breathing practices bit with Stanislav Grof at Esalen Institute was equally chaotic and somewhat disturbing to watch (though it was to good effect for all involved), and was of a similar character in broadest terms to the exorcism, even it looked infinitely more caring and compassionate alongside the Christian exorcism.

I’d be interested in hearing your own thoughts on the matter, if you have the ninety-five minutes to watch the film and comment further on it.

And finally for the moment…

For having just introduced Academia Antinoi a day ago (and only having advertised it personally here and on the Ekklesía Antínoou and Neos Alexandria groups), I’m pretty happy with the reception thus far. With any luck, I may have at least two students for the first term–but, we’re only a day into it and there’s still a month left before it starts! So, I have high hopes…but meanwhile, keep spreading the word! (And thank you for doing so!)

And, in the meantime, I’ve had some further ideas for courses, which I’d be interested in further feedback on. These would not be offered until August-September at the earliest, unless there is overwhelming demand for them in the meantime.

Hero Cultus: Ancient and Modern
The Enneagram: The Basic System
The Enneagram: The “Augmented” System

I’m also considering adding another four-week course to the mix, which would be Queer Spirituality Concerns for Non-Queer People, which would be aimed at giving some basic backgrounds and concepts to people in pagan and polytheist service and ministry positions who might not know as much about these things as they may wish, and who deal with LGBTQ people in their groups, covens, and so forth.

And, I suspect that eventually, other course offerings may include the following in the future:

Roman Deities
Etruscan Deities
Thracian Deities
Gaulish Deities
Celtiberian Deities
Romano-British Deities
Irish Deities
Welsh Deities
Sortilege and Bibliomancy
The PGM: An Introduction

Again, some of those might be able to come about sooner rather than later (particularly the last five), so if any of those interest you, and you’re likely to be in a position to take them in August-September, let me know and I’ll prioritize their development/preparation!

And, I also meant to mention in relation to Academia Antinoi, but neglected to: another thing that I hope to bring about as a result of offering those courses is a yearly publication through The Red Lotus Library called Liber Antinoi Anni, which would be a “yearbook” of some of the best work produced during the courses that year, which will include essays, new prayers, poems, spells, rituals, and other such things produced in relation to Antinous and other deities, as well as adding in the winning works from the year’s Megala Antinoeia–and remember, that’s just over a week away now! Those who contribute anything to it will be able to buy as many copies of it at-cost as they like. So, that will be another way to get some of the material produced in the course of a year out there to a wider audience, and it will also serve as a kind of “journal” for the Ekklesía Antínoou, to which members (as well as the wider polytheist public) can otherwise contribute.

*****

So, I hope what remains of your Friday the 13th of April, 2012 is very pleasant indeed, and is filled with the good influences of every deity with whom you deal devotionally–including Antinous! ;)


Responses

  1. Glad to see you teaching classes. I’ll definitely be signing up for several of those myself! My own practices seem to be going in a very interesting direction indeed, more to come on that. For now I hope I find you well and thrice blessed. May the wind be at your back my friend!
    <3 <3 <3

    Dave the Human

    • Lovely to hear your (virtual) voice again! I am very horrible and evil for not having replied to your e-mail of several weeks back yet, but I was hoping to get to it later tonight…I shall do so anon soon! ;)

  2. [...] will now go on without: Maurice Sendak, who died today at the age of 83. I wrote about him a bit last month, on what may have been a portentous day in the view of some, because I feared that he might not be [...]

  3. [...] help but wonder if Zeus Akreinenos is responsible…It’s also Friday the 13th, exactly three months since this occasion last occurred, and looking back on the last time we had a Friday the 13th, it’s interesting to see what has [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers