Posted by: aediculaantinoi | May 8, 2012

Fire and Water

In less than twelve hours, I’ll be leaving for a conference for the next week. I’ll be back very early in the morning on Tuesday the 15th. (I somewhat wish I wasn’t going to this conference now, as I booked my flight and registration for it about two weeks before I learned I wouldn’t be working this quarter, and so…well, you know.)

In the pagan blogosphere in the last few days, I’ve been hearing about a lot of doom and gloom. Michael York’s statements, and the responses of Star Foster and Teo Bishop, and then a post today at The Wild Hunt on a white buffalo calf…verily, the mind reels. (And appreciates Patheos.com for having so many good bloggers!)

However, the paper I happen to be writing is also about eschatology, and in particular, something that is different about polytheistic cosmic eschatologies: they’re not ends. The world and the universe go on, and things are different. The whole Mayan thing at the end of 2012 is not a “doomsday” prophecy, it’s a sign of renewal and a new beginning. (If in doubt, read more here on this matter from last year’s Esoteric Book Conference!)

I’m reminded of a few words by Strabo, which I use in the paper I’m writing for the conference:

…men’s souls, and also the universe, are indestructible, although both fire and water will at some time or other prevail over them.

This gets connected by Strabo to Pythagorean beliefs; and, of course, that gets us into the realm of Thracian things, and so forth…but, I’ll leave that aside for the moment!

This isn’t to say the state of the world doesn’t worry me: it does. But, I’m also not inclined to “go gentle into that good night,” as it were, especially when there are things that all of us can do to help the world out, and help each other out. The world will go on, with or without all of us, but I’m strongly in the category of preferring “with us” at this point, and I don’t see that changing anytime soon.

Unfortunately, in the meantime, we have lost someone that the world will now go on without: Maurice Sendak, who died today at the age of 83. I wrote about him a bit last month, on what may have been a portentous day in the view of some, because I feared that he might not be very long for the world of the living, and I’m sad that I was correct in that prognostication. He is now truly where the wildest things are, I suspect, and giving them one hell of a time. The question of his inclusion amongst the Sancti is now certainly open, and I’d be interested in any opinions on this matter.

But in the meantime, I must go and prepare for what I’m about to experience in around ten hours–the travel to this conference, and then the conference itself. Blogging may not be very copious between now and May 15th, depending on a few things (including time and computer availability), but I will endeavor to check-in from the road at least once. Also, if you are considering signing up for Academia Antinoi courses, please feel free to get in touch, but I may not be able to respond much before the 15th–no worries, as the initial classes will generally not require the use of any textbooks.

I hope everyone is well until I return, and I may communicate here again further sooner than expected, depending on a few things (including insomnia!). In the meantime, may Antinous’ blessings continue to shower upon all of you–the water of his peace and the fire of his strength–and may his blessings (and those of Hermes, Lugus, and Hanuman) go with me on my travels in the coming days!


Responses

  1. Thanks for mentioning Maurice Sendak – he is certainly one of my own poet-heroes now (I wrote my own little tribute to him today) and I think he would make an excellent sanctus. Safe travels!

  2. Maurice is certainly a Sanctus in my book. During my morning rituals I sang Ignis Corporeus Infirmat in his honor. Safe travels my friend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers