Posted by: aediculaantinoi | January 30, 2013

Bringing Back the Gods–Now With More Cool Hipster Irony! :/

Not a lot going on practice-wise today, though I’m feeling somewhat burdened (literally…and positively!) by some of my favorite Hindu deities (particularly Hanuman, Shiva, and Ardhnarishvara) at present, which isn’t a bad thing at all…And, I just learned of an avatar of Shiva I had not previously encountered: Sharabha, who was involved in various ways with Narasimha, and also has lion characteristics! Hmm!

A few weeks ago at Patheos.com, I wrote a column that got a lot of people riled, and caused some of them to label me a “Nazi fundamentalist.” Independent of all that, though…

But, a recent article (written after mine, but likely not influenced by it, I suspect), is Rob Bricken’s “Can We Bring the Greek Gods Back, Please?” at io9. And, while some of his reasons are not necessarily theologically “bad” or untrue, they’re not given there in any manner that is serious or actually conducive to people taking up polytheism. Instead, he seems to ultimately be arguing that all religions are equally dumb (and untrue), thus why do one that’s boring? Why not do one where the stories are fun, the practices are fun, and SEX is a big part of it, both for the gods and the worshippers? While those aren’t the best reasons to get into a religion, some people have to start somewhere…I guess…maybe…?!? :/


Responses

  1. I love Shiva (though a lot of that has to do with my own personal syncretism) and do daily prayers at my shivalinga (as well as observing Monday fasts) so I too was fascinated when I saw this come up on the NA list. It is a pretty nifty form of Shiva, and seems rather natural that one “lion” would be appropriate to quell the anger of the other :)

  2. When I saw your title I figured you must have bought a ‘hipster pagan t’shirt’. Allison Lilly made this creations to bring back Pagan ‘ironically’. I think they are hilarious. http://www.zazzle.com/gifts?ch=hipsterpagan

    • Nope. I don’t buy t-shirts generally speaking, and especially not ones with messages on them; and, I’m rather opposed to hipsterism in almost all cases. It is thoroughly unappealing for the most part, at least to me.

  3. I believe I may have sent you the io9 article some time back, or at least I very much had intended to do so. At any rate, I find it fascinating how sex, which we might call Eros, seems to draw people to the gods and yet I’ve failed to encounter an anthromorphic deity who exists in the same ontological economy as humanity that expresses the higher emotions of agape. I wonder, if to a degree, it is because that is something that is only possible amongst mortals.

    • No, I don’t think you did…yesterday was the first time I’d had word of it.

      It’s an interesting question you have, though…and, I’m not sure. I wouldn’t go so far as to say that one of those forms of love is “better” than the other (and, since I’m not Christian, I don’t have to!), but one is certainly more widely applicable–I should try and have agape for everyone, even those I don’t find attractive, etc. And yet, trying to develop an eros toward all beings could be considered equally as viable, as mystical, and as laudable (as long as it doesn’t end in hyper-objectification, abuse, nonconsent, etc.). Hmm…

      I wonder if the deities who are said to be “Friends of Mortals,” like Hermes, might be in that category, though…Some deities certainly seem to like people generally speaking more than others. I also wonder if one can apply the term agape to people like Gautama Siddhartha or various bodhisattvas, since they are said to have infinite compassion, which would be one potential understanding of agape


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 299 other followers