Posted by: aediculaantinoi | April 7, 2013

“The Marriage of Paneros” (Poem)

If you need further background on what is to follow, see this link. I hope to have this published along with the poem on Panprosdexia in the not-too-distant future (though the latter has to be finished first!), and there will likely also be a “Tetrad Group Mega-Book” not long after that, so that all of the poetry of the Tetrad Group can be in the same volume for those who want it. But, the most important thing at present is to get this out there so that people can access it. So, here goes…

NOTE: DO NOT REBLOG THIS! Feel free to link here as often as you like, or to make small excerpts of it; but, DO NOT REBLOG!!!
*****

tetrad star by Michael

The Marriage of Paneros

Muses of poetry, come and mingle now
with the mob of the Erotes, inspirers of love,
and help me recount the tale
which none before now have heard.

Eros was wedded to Psyche, as we know,
and their true tale has been told
for two millennia across lands and seas;
but Paneros emself persists in love for all,
while Panpsyche, eir mother, is not eir mate.
Who, then, among the immortal gods,
the blessed ancestors, the virtuous heroes,
the mortals of merit and the poets and prophets
and all other denizens of the divine worlds
would be suitable as a partner and lover
for Paneros, the all-loving serpent in humanoid form?
In truth, none of the population of realms divine
could fulfill such a role for Paneros.
Many might have wished it; some even attempted it;
but ultimately, none could match em
properly or fully in all-encompassing love.

Paneros found amicable companionship
with many friends who had, like emself,
drowned and been transformed as a result:
Virbius, victim and victor of Lake Nemi,
Palaimon, the former Melikertes, and his mother
Leukothea, who had been called Ino,
and Ino’s victim of jealousy, Helle,
and from the Land of the Kami of the Sun
the great Sarutahiko-no-Okami;
and, of course, Paneros’ own grandfather,
fair and beautiful Antinous of Bithynia.

“Tell me, dear friends,” Paneros asked the blessed drowned,
“was the water that brought death to you
your slayer, or your mother?”

“A difficult question, and yet one
in which many matters of import
could be discovered in answer.”

“Attempt it, then, bright Helle,
and all of you other blessed beings.”

“My mother is the same for me
in death and before it as much as after:
Leukothea, who shares my lineage
and my divine nature at present,”
Palaimon said in his ever-youthful voice.
His mother, no longer mad at Hera’s hands,
kissed the boy upon his dolphin.

“If one person is to be the mother
of my divine nature after drowning,
then it is Diana, whose waters were those
wherein I took my last mortal breaths,”
Virbius said with assurance,
forked golden branch in hand.

“The undulating sea of brine
that shelters shells and the hirabu
was the mother of Sokodaku-mitama,
Tsubutatsu-mitama, and Akasaku-mitama,
but my own mother is still my own.”
The august words of Sarutahiko-no-Okami,
divine protector and fierce defender of processions,
sounded like drum beats across a quiet plain.

At last, Antinous spoke with a tongue of silver:
“In life, my mother was Mantinöe,
and in death, Hapi was midwife of my divine birth,
my father was Re-Harakhte and my mother Thoth,
and Osiris my brother; and yet as well,
it was Hathor and Bes who were my parents;
or was it the heroine Antinöe, or mother Bendis
who brought me to my second birth?
Or Selene, desiring a mate, my slayer or savior?
This is a question even more difficult
than naming one deity as the father or mother
of your parents, Panpsyche and Panhyle.”

“I only ask, dear friends, because I wonder
whether at my own death and second birth
if now I must count Hatred and Spite as a parent
since I was submerged and transformed
in the watery womb of the goddess Styx.”

“A fair question, my grandchild.
But I sense another question behind it.”

“The gods spared me an eternity in Tartarus
for finding a role to play in the cosmos;
but I fear that though I do love all things
and have freed Eros himself and unleashed desire
to flow and flash across the universe,
yet, the second condition the gods gave me
has not been adequately addressed:
who could I love in the population of divine beings,
not simply in friendly affection, or even agape,
but as one being for the other, seeing one another
and embracing every fault and beauty,
being two shores upon which the waves of desire
crash equally and flow and ebb with the tides?”

And Antinous’ eyes filled with tears at this,
for he knew that the love of all beings, though beautiful,
is not a substitute for the love of one being.
It was a moment when the gold and silver
of Paneros’ shining skin of armor seemed to fade,
and for the first time in ages, e stood there unguarded,
vulnerable and naked, yet neither ashamed nor afraid,
as in revealing the truth behind the fears,
fear itself was defeated as surely
as when Antinous speared Phobos on Styx’s banks.

The wife of Sarutahiko-no-Okami arrived then,
beautiful and fierce Ame-no-Uzume-no-Mikoto,
who had no fear within her and thus won the hand
of her indomitable and fearsome husband.
“Paneros, you will have my blessings and my ki
to go forth and find a mate for yourself,
your match as equally as mine to my husband.”

And three forgotten divine mortals
came to join the company of drowned deities:
Divus Aelius Caesar, Attikos Bradua,
and Lucius Claudius Herodes.
Paneros looked at them, loved them,
And bade them speak their advice to em.

Bradua spoke thus: “I am your uncle,
the brother of Panpsyche and Panhyle
since we share a father and mother in Herodes and Regilla.
Hatred is not your mother, but strife is your grandmother,
as well you know. Do not forget this,
for in coming to find a love of your own,
you must remember that love and strife
are eternal bedfellows, a dance of beauty and awe.
Though father has been at odds with me,
strife has given way to love at last with us.”

The young adopted son, dead before his time,
of Herodes Attikos spoke after his elder.
“Paneros, it is never too late
to choose another person, another chance,
at the love you might wish to have.
Though disappointed in death many times,
your grandfather and my adopted father
chose to try again with me as a new son.
Take the good example of Herodes as your guide!”

Divus Aelius Caesar spoke last.
“Paneros, I foresee a long toil for you.
Not until a year from now, on this date
which was the date of my death
will you find the love that you seek.
Pay no heed to auspice and fortuitous timing,
but instead seize the opportunity when it comes
to make your love a reality in the world,
even if utter perfection cannot be attained at once.”

The three great uncles of Paneros
gave their advice, warnings, blessings, and love
to Paneros before eir departure.
The drowned deities kissed eir each in turn,
and advised em to seek out Eris again.

Eris was waiting, smiling, proud
that her grandchild remembered her once more.
Phobos and Deimos, still wounded,
recoiled in the presence of the love
that scatters fear and disperses terror
and puts to flight the instinct to flee:
one froze, the other rushed away.

“Grandmother, you have shown me the way through hate;
now, show me the way to find love.”

“You are wise, my grandchild and kinsperson,
for the only way to attain a love of your own
is through strife. Therefore, I have a gift for you.”

She held an apple in her outstretched hand,
a red-golden jewel of exquisite beauty,
more beautiful than any she had presented before.
Paneros moved to take the apple.

NO!

Paneros stopped, confused, uncertain.

“The apple is not for you to take,
it will be here for you and your partner
to eat together
when you have found that person.
But that isn’t all.”

Paneros looked at eir grandmother,
a beautiful bewitching goddess
who was a sphinx in her silence
as much as in the riddle she did not speak.

Paneros took eir sword and sliced the apple
in two pieces, equal in size,
and from the center, in a pentangular shape
were five seeds, all the same size.
E took the five seeds
And knew what would need to be done.

For two months Paneros covered the cosmos,
Searching for a spring, a stream, a well.
E came to a place where a mermaid-like nymph
lived in the shadow of Mithras’ cave.
The Phyrgian-capped god emerged from the cave
with dog, snake, scorpion, and crab following
and two young torchbearers at his side.

“Great of healing and refreshing have my waters been,
and before me I see a child of the waters.
I am Coventina, sister to Senua and Sabrina,
Thamisis and all the river goddesses of this land.”

“Goddess, nymph, and holy power,
I have come in search of love.”

“I cannot help you to find love;
only to find healing for your many wounds
suffered due to absence of love,
misunderstanding and rejection.”

“And I,” Mithras continued, “cannot help either,
except with my light, the light of the hypercosmic sun,
the god of this middle realm of existence,
by which you will reign over the regions of heaven
and be pre-eminent in bringing plenty to all.”

“Mithras, Coventina, I thank you for your favors.”

“These are not favors freely given, child;
they demand an offering of sacrifice in return.”

Paneros was pained, but knew the truth of the matter,
and gave one of the five seeds to Coventina,
who gave half to Mithras.

Coventina’s waters poured upon Paneros, bathing em
in cold cleansing balm, while Mithras
brought his second sun from behind Helios
and his black light shone down on Paneros’ body.
Water droplets became steam upon skin,
and in a moment, Paneros’ wounds were gone.
E thanked and blessed them, and went on eir way.

Three months passed, and Paneros came
in the great depths of the ocean
to the purple coral palace of Poseidon,
a tapering tree-like tower beneath the sea
where seahorse cavalries and dolphin battalions
paraded before the reviewing eyes
of the great god of earth-shaking oceans himself.
At his side was a beautiful god
whose fairness of face rivaled even fair Antinous.

“Grandchild, you angered me when first we met
and I sued for your love with Zeus and Hades.
But, in coming to your full power among the Erotes,
you freed the father of Anteros from death and jealousy,
and now Nerites, my love among the deathless gods,
is at my side as he was before we were parted.”

“Grandfather, I am pleased that you have been
reunited with your love, Nerites.
I am seeking my own love now.”

Nerites, his teeth finer than a shower of pearls,
smiled at Paneros; but Poseidon’s brows
knitted in frustration and judgement,
and his trident glowed and pulsed in anger.

“If you are truly ‘All-Love,’ and have freed the cosmos
into a state where expressing any love is possible,
how, then, could you refuse the love of Zeus, Hades, and I?”

Paneros paused, thought about this conundrum,
and continued, “There are many forms of love,
but without the element of consent, there is no love,
only rape. Your child, Anteros, avenges unrequited love,
and yet his wrath has not come upon me.
It was not love that you felt for me, only lust;
and though lust and limerence can become love in time,
if there is no consent, then it cannot proceed.”

Poseidon lowered his trident and stroked his beard.
“You are right, my grandest child. It was wrong
of me and my brothers to demand so much of you.
Yet, retribution must be made for the offense against us:
we have not known defeat until your words
repulsed us each back to our own realms.
We, though in error, were humiliated, our honor marred.”

“You have my forgiveness and my love;
what more would you have of me?”

“A sacrifice of propitiation.
There are many who might love you,
who have loved you, who will love you,
and who will resent you for choosing
to love one person other than themselves.
How will you answer divine justice in this?”

Paneros was pained, but knew the truth of the matter
and gave one of the four seeds to Poseidon,
who gave half to Nerites.

A weight like a thousand tidal waves
rose up off the shoulders of Paneros,
and like a hundred thousand lovers lost at sea,
Anteros lifted his curse on unrequited loves
throughout the cosmos in honor of his fathers.
E thanked them and blessed them, and went on eir way.

Another month passed, and Paneros came
to a mound in Vanaheim at the roots of Yggdrasil,
where eir fellow Erotes of the North, Freyr and Freyja,
were in summer’s splendrous residence feasting.

“Paneros, though we are your fellows in the grove,
we would also wish to be your parents.”

“My lord and my lady, I am your child, then!
I have come in search of love, and I seek your help.”

“Then, my child, take these gifts,”
and from the amber bounty of Brisingamen around her neck,
Freyja brought forth violet flowers, flax, and ripened rye.

“Then, my child, take these gifts,”
and from his scabbard Freyr drew forth
a boar’s tusk and a pointed antler.

Paneros took the two sets of gifts,
but knew that there must be a catch.

“And what do my parents wish of me in return?”

“Is there a gift you wish to give us?”

Paneros brought forth one of the three apple seeds.

“You are wise to give such a gift,” Freyr said.
“But, it is not to us that you must give it.”

“I do not understand.”

“You are our child, and we as your parents
would wish the very best blessings upon you,
and would give you all that we might muster.”

“Therefore,” Freyja spoke sternly,” do not give
this third of five seeds to us:
I have apples upon trees in orchards aplenty.
No, you must give this gift to yourself.”

“I do not understand.”

“In a seed is the virtue and potential
of an entire tree, and myriad fruits,
and a thousand million seeds more.
It is a being yet to be born,
a boon and a balm and a blessing.
You deserve to find love more than any,
but you cannot do so unless you are fed.
This third seed is your own, for your renewal.
If you eat it, you will become fruitful,
you will become rooted deep in the earth,
you will have branches into the heavens,
you will have a strong and sturdy trunk.
Take it, eat it, and become more yourself.”

Paneros was pained, but knew the truth of the matter,
and gave one of the seeds into eir own hand,
into eir own mouth, into eir very marrows,
and every part of the seed strengthened em
and prepared em for the fruits of love to follow.

The gifts of Freyr were gone, it seemed,
and no golden boar’s tusk nor sturdy antler-point
remained to be seen or felt in Paneros’ grasp;
likewise, Freyja’s gift of flowers, flax, and rye
were also no longer beautiful and fragrant
in the receiving arms of Paneros.

E looked at emself, though, and was shocked
to see between eir legs
a most unusual sight:
a penis with two heads to the left and right
above a vulva, violet and velvety
and two breasts upon eir chest.
Paneros was shocked and amazed…and grateful.

“When your wedding night comes, child,”
Freyr began, and Freyja continued,
“no matter the mate, your form will satisfy
both yourself and the lucky one who receives your love!”
The two Vanir, children of the sea, embraced their child.
E thanked them and blessed them, and went on eir way.

Another month passed, and Paneros found emself
in Egypt, near the first cataract
at the time of the inundation.
The goddess Anoukis stood at the ready
to pour forth the bounty of her abundance;
the ram-headed Heryshaf, creator,
surveyed the land in preparation for its renewal;
lion-headed Maahes and lotus-fragrant Nefertem
stood guard on each bank at Anoukis and Heryshaf’s sides;
and from Nubia came three ambassador gods
to pass on the Nile’s blessings to their neighbors,
Mandulis, Apedemak, and Mehit.

“O great gods of Egypt and Nubia, my ancestors,
I have traveled the world in search of love.
I have gained wisdom, healing, reconciliation,
and a better foundation in my own body
in preparation to receive love,
but I do not know where to find it.”

The seven deities conferred with one another
and Heryshaf spoke their judgement first.

“We are seven deities, but with you, we are eight:
we have become a blessed Ogdoad,
and thus may twice our number
be the measure of the bounty of the Nile!”

Anoukis continued, “But an Ogdoad would improve
if it became an Ennead, O child of Two Lands.”

Mehit then spoke, “True, my sister.
Therefore, give to us a gift
that we may become greater,
and your fate will be revealed.”

Paneros was pained, but knew the truth of the matter,
and gave one of the two seeds to the gods
who placed it in the Nile.

Hapi like a child in full bloom appeared,
the Apis Bull roared, the Buchis Bull rutted,
the Mnevis Bull spoke prophetic words,
the Petsuchos devoured Egypt’s enemies
and all the Serpents of the Two Lands
reared and spread their hoods
to shield all of the land’s inhabitants.

“The solution to your problem is simple.
In the West is a great oasis,
the last of the waters of Nun
have come to rest there.
The oasis is guarded by two deities,
but you will be able to reach it
with the Golden Lady as your guide.
You have become like Neith, the goddess
said to be two-thirds male and one-third female,
the father of fathers and the mother of mothers,
and yet you are neither goddess nor god, male nor female,
man nor woman, mother nor father—
you are the third, the Triad where there had been a Dyad,
the force that makes an Ogdoad an Ennead,
the power to make a Tetrad have a fifth member.
Go to the oasis, and in the fertile waters of Nun,
primal chaos and the cradle of creation,
cast the last of your seeds—
it will find root and sustenance and flourishing there,
and love will be possible for you when you do.”

Paneros thanked and blessed them,
and before departing, eir golden grandmother Hathor
emerged from the West to guide em to the oasis.

A month passed, and Paneros’ brow was wet with sweat.
Two months passed, and Paneros’ feet were cracked and weary.
Three months passed, and Paneros’ eyes were bleary and spotted.
Four months passed, and Paneros’ tongue was parched and dry.
Five months passed, and Paneros stood in the shade.

Hathor, like a trail of turquoise
danced a spell of thanksgiving and blessing
around Paneros, kissed em and embraced em,
and departed into the golden rays of sunset.

Ash, the guardian of the oasis,
with the heads of now a lion, now a vulture,
now a snake, now a hawk,
and even an animal resembling Set,
opposed Paneros and forbade em entry.

“I have come seeking the waters of Nun.”

“You will not be given leave to have them.”

“I have come seeking the waters of Nun,
for I am destined to bring love to desire.”

“You will not be given leave to have them.”

“I have come seeking the waters of Nun,
for I am destined to bring love to desire,
and I carry the blessings of Ogdoad and Ennead.”

“You will not be given leave to have them.”

“I have come seeking the waters of Nun,
for I am destined to bring love to desire,
and I carry the blessings of Ogdoad and Ennead,
and I myself am the Triad of the Tetrad.”

“You will not be given leave to have them.”

“I have come seeking the waters of Nun,
for I am destined to bring love to desire,
and I carry the blessings of Ogdoad and Ennead,
and I myself am the Triad of the Tetrad,
and my lineage is extensive and mighty.”

“Who, then, o Triad of the Tetrad,
is the foremost of your grandfathers?
Who was the grandmother that gave your parents birth?”

“Set, the Sutekh, slayer of Apophis,
the stormy god of Egypt’s red sands.”

“Then, for the love of your grandfather,
may love be brought to desire
in the waters of Nun’s oasis.”

With a tear in his eye—the eye of the face of Set—
Ash raised his spear and sheathed his scythe
and allowed Paneros to pass into the oasis.

The lush greenery at the banks of a small pool
teemed with life-forms never before seen,
all fed by the endless potentiality
of the last pool of Nun’s primordial powers.

At the side of the pool, a snake-headed being stood,
a great papyrus scroll unfurled before it,
a stele of hieroglyphs standing behind it,
and a birth-brick under its feet beneath it.

“I have come to bring love to desire,
to deposit the last of the five seeds
into the fructifying waters of Nun
and to bring a creature into being
plucked from the abyss of chaos and confusion
that I might love and be loved by in turn—
a lover and a mate as much as a child,
a spouse fit for a goddess or a god
and yet my own, for I myself am neither.”

The snake-headed Shai, both god-like and goddess-esque,
read from the scroll.

“To bring forth such a being on this day
will not be favorable, for it will be a creature
of strife for you and for others and for itself.
Wait a day, and try tomorrow.”

“No. I will do this today, now, quickly.”

The snake-headed Shai, goddess-esque and god-like,
translated the stele.

“To bring forth such a being on this day
a year after your search began
will not be favorable to the seed you bear.
Wait a day, and try tomorrow.”

“No. I will do this today, now, quickly.”

The snake-headed Shai, destiny’s voice,
squatted upon the birth-brick.

“Very well. You have been warned,
but you have made your choice.
The death-date of Divus Aelius Caesar
will be the birth-date of this new being,
a most inauspicious day now and then,
and you will accept the full consequences
and responsibilities of your actions
according to the dictates of Ma’at.
Place the seed into the water,
and Nun’s waters will bring the being forth,
you second Neith, neither goddess nor god,
Paneros, Triad of the Tetrad.”

Paneros hesitated for what seemed like hours, days, months,
holding the last of the seeds from Eris’ red-gold apple,
a cherished object, the only one yet in existence
and shed tears over it, knowing that perfection
would not be the result of the birth to follow;
and yet, a smile broke out over eir tear-streaked face,
for e knew that love never seeks nor is stopped by perfection
or its lack, the wish for it, or the struggle towards it.
Waiting a day would be no better, so e thought,
even if the auspices seemed to have favored doing so,
and the words of Divus Aelius Caesar sounded in eir ears.

This was the moment to act.

Paneros dropped the seed into the blue-black pool
that swallowed it without ripple or splash.
The blue-black color went clear, then lines of blue and black
flashed slowly, then quickly, becoming lines of red and white,
then yellow and purple, orange and green
and fifteen-hundred shades of grey.
Slowly, a shape began to form,
and the surface of the pool trembled, then shook,
then bubbled, then surged,
and as it foamed more violently than the brine
when Ouranos’ severed genitals made Aphrodite,
the new being emerged on the surface,
supported by a great seashell, wearing a fox-fur cap
and a cloak of red-orange fur trimmed with white.

Paneros could see this being’s face was beautiful,
the lines of the being’s jaw sharp and strong,
the cheekbones high, the lips inviting…
but was it a boy, a girl, or something else?

E blessed and thanked the being, eir child,
and lingered to learn more.

“Speak, o beautiful being, and tell me your name and nature.”

“I will not tell you my name until you know it.”

“Then say what sort of being you are, goddess or god?”

“Yes.”

“I don’t understand.”

“Then look!”

The being flung aside the fox-fur cap and cload
and a cascade of straight black hair fell down her back,
her gleaming bronze flesh revealed with firm breasts,
curved hips, and a vulva equal to Aphrodite or Freyja.
Paneros’ double-headed member laid firm across eir thighs.

“Do you like what you see, Paneros?”

“Yes, very much—I love you!”

“But what about me?”

In a flash, the hair was shorter on his head,
and a beard’s shadow fell over his face;
the chest had broadened, the breasts flattened,
and where the mound of Venus once was
now stood a herm of flesh engorged.
Paneros’ labia became damp, near dripping.

“Do you like what you see, Paneros?”

“Yes, very much—I love you!”

“But does your pussy drip for me?”
And she became a woman again.

“Yes, very much—I love you!”

“But do your cocks get hard for me?”
And he became a man again.

“Yes, very much—I love you!”

“Geez—is sex all you think about?”

“Yes, very much—I love you!”

“You fool! Is that all you can say?”

“Yes, very much—I love you!”

“That’s it…I’m outta here!”

As she picked up the fox-furs
and flourished them over her head
as she placed the cap on and the cloak over her shoulders,
he nodded slowly and fastened the cloak
while giving a last look at his manhood
to the confused Paneros before flitting away.

Shai’s snake-head swayed right and left, hissing.
Before the deity of destiny’s voice could say more,
Paneros covered eir face, crying,
wishing e had not been so eager,
wishing e had not followed the Divus’ advice,
wishing eir grandmother had not given em
the seeds of strife in order to find love.

For two months, Paneros roamed the earth
in every land in search of the new being,
the god/dess who was both he and she,
but never both at once.

E came to the cave of Proteus,
and to the grotto of Thetis,
trying to understand transformation and transition
amongst the sea deities, those most fluid beings.

E went to Panpsyche, eir mother,
and told her of eir troubles.
She felt empathy for her child,
but confusion over this new being.

E went to Panhyle, eir father,
and told him of eir troubles.
He understood his child’s difficulties,
but was dumbfounded by the new being.

E went to Pancrates, eir child,
and told hir of eir troubles.
Sie nodded in amazement and wonder,
and gave hir parent sage advice.

“Paneros, my parent, what did you expect?
You felt conflicted over your desires—
feeling selfish for even desiring to have a love of your own.
You love all beings in the cosmos,
but you have never loved yourself well enough.
By desiring the love of one, you hoped
to fill the gap in love for yourself you lacked.
But look at yourself: you are what you’ve always wished,
and no being in the universe does not love you.
In this realization of all beauty is to be found all power.”

“My child, you are right!
How could I have been so foolish?”

“You are young still—we are young still!
Words have never come easy for you,
for so few words have yet been wrought
to even describe what we are.
The same is true for this new being,
my sibling, and my parent,
for if he or she is to be your lover,
then she or he is equally my mother and father
as much as Panpsyche and Panhyle are.”

“My child, you are all peace- all truth,
all beauty, and all power!”

“And so you have told me since my birth.
But what is this new sibling’s name?”

“I believe I know it now,
and in knowing, I also know
where to find him or her.”

In the day that remained,
Paneros scaled every inch of the earth
to find the roving court
which was the seat of the queendom of Eris.

She was not to be found
on the earth or under it;
she could not be located
on the sea or within it;
she was nowhere to be seen
in the air or over it.

There was only one more place to look.

As when Pancrates was yearning to be born,
Paneros turned eir sword around again,
and with it, e split emself down the middle,
cleaving mind, cleaving heart,
cleaving down to eir very roots.
Eir mind, now one and not two,
now made up instead of wavering,
eir heart now holding a single desire
was met with victory in eir long quest.

Eris sat on her throne of broken scepters
held together by spiderweb filaments
and half-finished reams of poetry,
and rose to her feet, smiling and applauding.

In the fox-fur cloak and cap nearby
was the new being Paneros brought into birth
and form whom e felt the utmost and sincerest love.

“Speak my name and I will be yours.”

“You are my daughter and my son,
you are the Ouranos to my Gaia,
the Iusaas to my Atum,
but also the Nyx to my Gaia
and the Hadrian to my Antinous,
Agdistis and Hermaphroditos to myself,
the wife and husband to my soul,
the man and woman for my body,
the goddess and god of my deepest love,
a love between love and strife:
your name is Paneris.”

“It took you long enough to say it!
Were you stalling for time to figure it out?”

“I may have been, but you’ll never know!”

And Eris, pleased by her child and grandchild,
simply laughed and tossed her head back
while Phobos and Deimos came forward
with two halves of a red-gold apple
that once had five seeds in it,
still gleaming white, firm, and unrotted.

Paneris took one half of the apple in her hand,
but Paneros stopped her. “No—wait.”
With eir sword, e cut the apple half in two
and then said to Paneris, “Proceed!”
She took one half of the halved apple
and fed it to Paneros, then she kissed em,
and he took one half of the halved apple
and fed it to Paneros, then he kissed em.

Paneros likewise split eir half of the apple,
and e fed Paneris one half of it,
kissimg him and putting eir hand on his penis.
Paneris thrilled at the touch.
Then Paneros took the other half of the halved apple
when eir hand felt the warm wetness of Paneris’ vulva,
and fed it to her and kissed her juice-flecked lips.
Paneris could not help but smile.

What more is there to say, O Muses?
The four became five, and soon a sixth
will join them as their star shines in the West.
All thanks to thee, O Muses and Erotes,
and to the Tetrad, and Paneris—
I will sing for you again, and will remember you
on the wedding-feast of Paneros and Paneris once more!

*****

Hail, Thanks, and Praise to the Tetrad!
Hail, Thanks, and Praise to Paneros!
Hail, Thanks, and Praise to Paneris!
Hail, Thanks, and Praise to Panprosdexia!


Responses

  1. Hail, Thanks, and Praise to the Tetrad!

  2. Is reblogging becoming more frequent?

    • People who I’ve never heard of, who just show up and start reblogging my stuff at whim, has become more frequent (though not by any means a regular occurrence). It’s why I issued a “Blog Policies: READ THIS FIRST” page above (which, apparently, no one reads!). Some of the people I’ve corrected on this have been great about it, but several have been awful. What it amounts to is me saying “Please ask permission before you take my stuff to add to your blog,” and for pointing that out to some people, apparently I’m a “real asshole.” Okay, then.

  3. Both brilliant & beautiful. What a great read, too.

  4. Beautiful.

  5. [...] at Aedicula Antinoi, there is a wonderful poem: “The Marriage of Paneros“. I must say that part of the reason I like it so much is because it made me laugh, multiple [...]

  6. [...] – this is all going to be very rambly and meandering, a collection of my thoughts concerning this poem as well as anything my mind deems relevant. Which…my mind leaps to interesting places, so [...]

  7. [...] unconnected to some of the poems I wrote in the recent Hephaistos devotional and some of my other recent poetry, too. I’m in the midst of writing about Hera (and the Empress Diva Sabina Augusta) at [...]

  8. [...] Warboar writes about the god Heryshaf, who (as avid readers of this blog may realize) came up in a recent poem of mine. My instincts about Heryshaf have proven, according to Warboar’s research, to have been [...]

  9. [...] All-Power: A TransMythology for the original four members of the Tetrad Group. One can read “The Marriage of Paneros” to honor either Paneros or Paneris; and one can read “The Sixth” for [...]

  10. […] because it means “thought” or even “logos.” Why does that make sense? In “The Marriage of Paneros,” Paneris confronts Paneros with the limits and limitations of thought. Just as Panpsyche is […]

  11. […] ones that put the “++” in “Tetrad++,” in fact!–which can be found here and here. They certainly have not had that many page views as some of my other more recent posts […]

  12. […] late on this day last year. I got to know Paneris better over the coming months, and eventually “The Marriage of Paneros” was written to commemorate his/her birth and further the transmythological cycle of the Tetrad++ […]

  13. […] —“The Marriage of Paneros” […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers