Posted by: aediculaantinoi | April 12, 2013

Some Interesting Things I Didn’t Know…

rope-shinto-yamanakako-TN

I have a mental list of things I’d like to post on here for discussion purposes…unfortunately, Brain-Fog of Sickness -10 has me short on remembering what they are…I really should write a proper list of them someday, though in all honestly I still have lists of things I’ve wanted to post about that I have not finished from up to three years ago, literally…! (Must get to those at some point…)

But, while it is fresh in my mind, I thought I might mention something else in the meanwhile.

I’m putting the finishing touches on the poem concerning the birth and origins of Panprosdexia, and as I think I’ve said earlier, it is difficult, but the “worst” part is over…now, just knowing where is a good place to stop is kind of a hanging question, but there we are.

However, in the research for it, I found out about something that I only had the most vague inklings of before, and I thought I might share it with you.

Note:  This image is not any of the Kami mentioned below...but it came up in an image search.  Just so you know...!?!  ;)

Note: This image is not any of the Kami mentioned below…but it came up in an image search. Just so you know…!?! ;)

There are, it seems, a number of “gender-ambiguous,” or perhaps gender-fluid, kami within Shinto tradition. One of them (whose name is interesting due to part of its similarity to the Greek name Kore) is Ishi-Kore-Dome-no-Kami, who is an androgynous or gender-variant kami most famous for having made the mirror which helped (along with Ame-no-Uzume-no-Mikoto’s lewd Baubo-like dance) to lure Amaterasu-Omikami out of the cave. Makers of mirrors and stone-cutters consider Ishi-Kore-Dome-no-Kami as a patron/ess, therefore.

But, another kami that I’ve been worshipping for many years, and of whom I have a small shrine in my home, is also gender-fluid or gender-ambiguous, with attested forms across several genders (male, female, and androgynous): namely Inari-Okami! Also fascinating in this regard is that Inari-Okami is connected to foxes and to kitsune; and Paneris of the Tetrad Group is likewise gender-fluid and always wears a fox-fur cap and cloak. Very fascinating indeed…

Anyway, some intriguing things, which will have relevance to the Panprosdexia poem in some fashion…you’ll just have to wait and see, eh? ;)


Responses

  1. [...] Sufenas discusses the gender ambiguous kami in [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 298 other followers