Posted by: aediculaantinoi | April 22, 2013

We Are Not Borg; We Are Vulcans

The thing which prevented posts from me occurring on Friday and Saturday this past weekend was that I happened to be in Seattle, mainly to present a short bit on the Ekklesía Antínoou at Edge of the Circle Books during OLOTEAS‘ final class of their yearly “Skiing the Magical Bunny Slope” course, where various different groups come and do a quick elevator speech, more or less, on their groups.

While I don’t know if any of the new folks from the class will be interested in the Ekklesía Antínoou, I did enjoy presenting, and speaking with some of the other presenters afterwards. Among these was the organizer of Sacred Well Ministries.

I have to say, even though the diversity of the presenters was noteworthy, and the way in which we all seem to get along pretty well was also something that one of the other presenters commented upon as a uniquely Puget Sound area phenomenon amongst pagan and esoteric groups, nonetheless I felt pretty different amongst the group because of the decidedly non-Wiccan nature of the Ekklesía Antínoou. Even the manner in which I speak about the gods and goddesses was different than almost every other group who had a representative present.

At the end of the night, when I was given a ride back to where I was staying by the head of Sacred Well Ministries, we were talking about syncretism, which I had mentioned is not entirely the same as eclecticism, but is very similar in many respects. (I do go back and forth on whether they are synonymous or not…) While many groups and individuals have a tendency to read about other religions or practices and then (as someone who was a representative of another group said) “plagiarize them,” or in some other way absorbs or adapts them to their own purposes, I don’t want to be thought of as the way people often think of Roman polytheists, which is somewhat akin to the way people think of the Borg: “your distinctiveness will be added to our own.” Instead, I think we’re much more like the Vulcans of Star Trek in their IDIC ideal: “Infinite Diversity, Infinite Combinations.” Or, at least we strive to be.

So, what do you think: are you more of a Borg, or a Vulcan? (And, it’s all right to be a Borg, just as long as you tell other people you are–resistance is NEVER futile!)


Responses

  1. Can I be Klingon?

    • If you can make an argument that suggests how they would approach polytheism and/or pagan practice, then yes. ;)

      • They would approach polytheism by killing the gods. Seriously. It’s canon.

        “With fire and steel did the gods forge the Klingon heart. So fiercely did it beat, so loud was the sound, that the gods cried out, ‘On this day we have brought forth the strongest heart in all the heavens. None can stand before it without trembling at its strength.’ But then the Klingon heart weakened, its steady rhythm faltered and the gods said, ‘Why do you weaken so? We have made you the strongest in all of creation.’ And the heart said… ‘I am alone.’ And the gods knew that they had erred. So they went back to their forge and brought forth another heart. But the second heart beat stronger than the first, and the first was jealous of its power. Fortunately, the second heart was tempered by wisdom. ‘If we join together, no force can stop us.’ And when the two hearts began to beat together, they filled the heavens with a terrible sound. For the first time, the gods knew fear. They tried to flee, but it was too late. The Klingon hearts destroyed the gods who created them and turned the heavens to ashes. To this very day, no one can oppose the beating of two Klingon hearts.”

        This is apparently part of the liturgy of their marriage ceremony. Which is kind of sweet.

      • My only response to this is: Titanismos, much? ;)

      • Which, I suppose, makes even more sense considering that their home planet is called, in an Earth-language approximation, Kronos. Coincidence? I suspect not! ;)

  2. If I was anything from the Star Trek universe, I’d be one of the Q.

    • Indeed, I suspect if most people had a choice of anything from the Star Trek universe, they’d choose Q–why the hell not? I like the Q uniform, too!

      But, the question is: how does Q exist as a model for polytheism and/or pagan practice?

  3. I’m more or less a Vulcan rather than Borg.
    Although I would feel at home with some of the people portrayed in the pilot episode – the rich merchants with their silks and jewels and green dancing girls. One should always have some fun in whatever material universe one happens to be living in.

    • Certainly! Dancing girls (and boys) of whatever color one wishes would always be appreciated ’round these parts. ;)

  4. I hope I’m more a Vulcan than a Borg… then again, I’m hardly focused enough on logic to be a Vulcan!

    Aaaaaand off I go to the Star Trek fanfiction, of course. I am a predictable creature.

    • Oh, I’m nowhere near logical enough to be a Vulcan; nonetheless, Spock has always been one of my favorites, and my eyebrows are at least Vulcan, even if none of the rest of me is. (I wish my ears were…!?!)

  5. Vulcan. Definitely an anomalous, warm-hearted Vulcan. For the ears, as you say, and the poise, and the beauty.
    Dancing beings of all kinds, free beings who dance for the love of it, in velvet and silks and draped bits of nothing.

    Ahyup, Beltain is a-comin’ in!

    • Yes…I’m there with you entirely!

      According to the Star Trek cartoon series from way back, Vulcan children also wore interesting things. It would have made growing up that much more…interesting, let’s say…to have grown up on Vulcan. ;)

  6. […] in Redmond, WA, sponsored/hosted by OLOTEAS (Our Lady of the Earth and Sky), who also put on this event back in […]

  7. […] events of note during 2013 included my participation in two OLOTEAS events: Skiing the Magical Bunny Slope in April, and Concentric Circles in September; and the S. J. Tucker event at the Aquarian Tabernacle Church […]

  8. Upon finding this post, I’m sad that I didn’t attend Skiing the Magickal Bunny Slope this year! :( But tis true that the classes are usually with a Wicca-ish bent, since it’s the most visible face of Paganism.

    • Likely as not, I’ll be there again for this occasion in a few months…but, hopefully there will be some other occasion on which we can meet before then!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 298 other followers