Posted by: aediculaantinoi | May 7, 2013

A Photo From Last Week

Though there’s still a few moments of Boukoklepteia left, this is a post that is 100% true–no, seriously, it is! ;)

Many of you may recall the post I made last week on a Floralia/Beltaine/etc. ritual at Mt. Erie that went particularly well. One of my students just sent some photos of the “grotto” that was made as a result of our floral offerings, although the specific spot we did it in is what I consider the “heart of the mountain” and its holiest spot, where there is a natural Shinto-esque torii-like formation of a fallen tree between three living trees, and which is the focus of all the rituals that I do on the mountain. I don’t know if I’ve ever posted a photo of that before, but if not…well, here is one now!

floralia2

Nice, innit?

And, just for good measure and a further perspective on things, and because I love that place so much, here’s another photo of the same thing.

floralia1

That conveys the height of it a bit more–when one stands there in front of it, the natural torii is actually above, and there’s an inclined nature to the whole thing–in other words, it’s kind of a natural altar (i.e. “high place” raised off the ground) in and of itself, even though it is still, technically, “ground” in and of itself.

In any case, it’s a lovely and beloved location, and I’m glad to be doing ritual there again. I can’t wait for Bendideia in about a week and a half, when we’ll be up there again! (I have some hymns to write meanwhile…)


Responses

  1. I wonder if those things will still be there when we head back up. If they’re not I hope it’s because they’ve either a) naturally decomposed back into the earth or b) been taken by other people to enjoy them/spread positive energy.

    • I don’t know if it has been rainy enough for them to decompose properly in the slightly-more-than-two-weeks that it will be when we go up. They’ll probably be quite dried out, if nothing else, and thus fallen in between the branches and things on the right side since the flowers won’t be bloomed out and holding themselves up as well, I’d think. It’s also possible that many of them would have blown away. Or, if people did see them and take them, that would be great, too! I hope no one went “What’s all this doing here?” and threw it all away into the garbage, certainly.

      I also wonder about the food offerings: I suspect that crows would have taken most of the crackers, but what about the apple slices? Hmm. I am trying to recall if I’ve ever seen birds up there on the top of the mountain, and I honestly don’t think I have, but I have not usually been paying attention. One never knows…perhaps raccoons went and checked them out and had a little feast, as they’re certainly in the forests around here. Full juicy fruits–even in small slices like the apples were–do take a little bit more time to rot, or be eaten by bugs, so that may be a bit messy if larger animals or birds have not taken them.

      We shall see! It will be a kind of science experiment along with being a devotional exercise…despite my repeated injunctions to not mix one’s science with one’s religion. ;)

      I was given the advice recently (by someone horsing the Norse god Freyr) to see my local holy places as they are at different times of the year and with the natural changes that take place in them. This is actually a further exercise in that direction, of sorts, since seeing how the natural environment absorbs one’s offerings is a part of this process. (Even if it might have been helped along by humans to one extent or another.) The main material offerings for the Bendideia will be grain of some kind (probably spelt or something similarly ancient) and fruit of some kind again (last year, I think we used raisins or sultanas…sort of the same thing, but anyway, dried grape products!), which are pretty easily “digested” by the natural environment, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 308 other followers