Posted by: aediculaantinoi | June 29, 2013

Devotional Lemonade Poems: The Second Batch

I ran into a delay that I could do nothing about earlier (i.e. a Relay For Life candlelight ceremony which took two hours rather than an hour as I thought it would), and I wanted this to get posted before midnight; I’ve updated it since then, after finishing writing the last two poems and seeking out images and such to go with the poems. As with yesterday’s post, please do feel free to discuss and comment on these; while I’m not as happy with some of my results today as I was yesterday, there’s no reason why some of these can’t be revised further in the future. (Not every devotional poem has to come out “perfect” from the start every time–and, no matter how great one’s inspiration from the gods happens to be, it’s still a fully human process to choose each word, syllable, line break and punctuation mark in poetry, and don’t ever let anyone tell you differently, lest they lie through their teeth!)

In any case, without further ado…

Thoth

Before he was a baboon howling at sunrise,
Thoth was an ibis upon the Nile’s banks.
The Nile’s black mud, bounty of Hapi and Anoukis,
was the first ink to be used by the scribes’ god.
The spindly legs of the ibis, the talons outstretched
made their marks in the mud as it dried like clay.
But the stone-cut hieroglyph was not his invention–
that was the province of Seshat, Lady of Builders.
Instead, his mud-blackened claws upon a bed of papyrus:
first symbols scratched onto the rolls of eternity.

emperor-hadrian-michael-oakes

Hadrian the Builder

The lines of a Legion in formation–
the columns in the libraries at his Villa.
The vallum’s ditch along Britannia’s wall–
the pool at the center of the triclinium.
The arch marking Hadrian’s restoration of Athens–
the monument of his hunts with Antinous.
The bridges in Britannia and at Rome named for him–
the bridge over the Ilissos on Eleusis’ sacred way.
The pediment of the Temple of Venus and Roma–
the great pillars of Zeus’ Olympeion…
the formidable walls of his Roman Serapeum.
The hemispherical dome of the Pantheon–
the curved exedra at the Antinoeion…
the flat drum rotunda of his tomb.

Laufey

Of the three sons of Laufey, the slender needle,
one surpasses the others in fame, and in infamy,
but the mother remains a pillar of virtue and beauty.
Her arms are long, her legs are strong, and her hair
like a thousand times a thousand leaves falls from her shoulders.
Her form is the seed of the shape of the Irminsul,
for she is the center and the pillar of her children’s world.
The thanks and praise given to her is carried heavenward,
and spreads down into the roots of the earth as well.
Laufey, thou island of leaves, sacred tree, may you favor us.

Enki

Lord of fresh water, he comes upon the river banks
to let flow the waters of the heart to Ninhursag;
Lord of fresh water, he comes upon the river banks
to let flow the liquid of life to Ninsar;
Lord of fresh water, he comes upon the river banks
to let flow the juice of joyousness to Ninkurra;
Lord of fresh water, he comes upon the river banks
to let flow the waters of weaving to Uttu,
who leaves it on the riverbank to become fruitful,
which the Lord of fresh water takes unto himself
but cannot bear alone, and thus from the Lady Earth
the gods of healing the seven body parts are born.
Enki, Lord of fresh water, of the number forty, be praised!

Sobek, Lord of Bakhu

O ancient and feared god, son of Neith most high,
evader of nets and discoverer of fallen hands,
smiter of tongues and he who moistens the scribes’ pen,
lord of green and sovereign of semen
upon your crystalline mountain in your temple of carnelian
you are imperishable and unshaken at Re’s passage
and are uninhibited amongst the glorious gods,
from the time before primal water and ancient air
were separated, from the time when male and female
were still mingled in the body of your mother Neith–
Sobek, Lord of Bakhu, may your ferocity
be my protection, and may you devour my enemies
and make their strength into my soul’s foundation.

Hekate

Khaire Hekate Chthonia, with Cerberus at your side;
Khaire Hekate Soteira, who brings every blessing;
Khaire Hekate Enodia, protecting those who ride;
Khaire Hekate Kourotrophos, in virtue children dressing;
Khaire Hekate Phosphoros, two bright torches bearing;
Khaire Hekate Trimorphe, with heads of dog and goat;
Khaire Hekate Trioditis, at crossroads wayfaring;
Khaire Hekate Apotropaia, who keeps sailors afloat;
Khaire Hekate Nyktipolos, wanderer in the night;
Khaire Hekate Skylagetis, huntress with her hounds;
Khaire Hekate Liparokredemnos, whose hair gives light;
Khaire Hekate Brimo, who howls frightening sounds;
Khaire Hekate Atalos, the maiden undefiled;
Khaire Hekate Perseis, who destroys with ease;
Khaire Hekate Propylaia, the gatekeeper she’s styled, and
Khaire Hekate Kleidouchos, who holds the gates’ keys.
Over heavens, earth, and ocean, sovereign goddess supreme,
Khaire Hekate, may I visit you again in hymn and in dream.

*****

Very quickly, you should be able to recognize the tune I had in mind with this next one…sing it yourselves, aloud, with your friends!

sekhemtstat

Sekhmet

Sing a song of Sekhmet, the fiery Eye of Re,
A hundred thousand armies slain in a day…
When the vats were opened the beer flowed forth all red–
Wasn’t that more preferable than every mortal dead?

Great Re was in his solar barque shining out so sunny,
And Heryshaf was on his lake–his bloody nose so runny–
While Sekhmet, in the desert, guarded the border,
Where Heqet was the midwife and Khnum was the porter!

The Eye of Re is frightening, when she is a lion,
Or when she is a serpent–makes her foes start cryin’–
But when she is a kitten, you can bet your life:
Bast knows how to carve a snake with deadly bladed knife!

*****

And, this last one is also meant to be a song…I’m not 100% happy with the lyrics yet, but it will do for now. As there is no icon of Panprosdexia yet, and I’ve already given the Tetrad++ Group’s star sigil in yesterday’s post, I’ll just give you a video of the tune to which the lyrics to follow are meant to be sung. (And special thanks to Sannion for turning me on to this song a few weeks ago…it’s now one of my favorites, though I’m not a huge fan of the lyrics, hence the rewriting!)

The Birth of Panprosdexia

Great Pancrates, the fourth of the gods,
The last to give birth from among the Tetrad
From scraps of fate, forgotten and gone,
The fourth of the gods gave birth to the sixth…

[CHORUS:]
Pancrates bore a magical child
Pancrates’ child will conquer the world
Pancrates bore a magical child
With black onyx eyes
It’s the beginning of a new night
Now the Tetrad can face the fight
They will bring all of them back to the light–
The birth of Panprosdexia!

Honey poured forth into the dark
Was like the birth of Panprosdexia–
The shadow between the pleasures of sex
Without the form of any sex…

[CHORUS]

They will descend to dark Tartaros
To redeem the gods cast into blackness;
They will bring all to the light of day
The children of Nyx and Gaia!

[CHORUS]


Responses

  1. I liked especially that poem for Thoth.

    • Given some of our various conversations over the last few years, I suspected you’d like that one! Glad you did! ;)

      • Ironically, it made me think of “…and did those feet, in ancient time…”

      • That’s quite fascinating…

        Perhaps it can be rewritten in Blake-ian style about Thoth? Hmm…

        But, maybe later, as I still have seven more scheduled poems to write for today, and three “bonus” ones that I must do as well now, too!

  2. A beautiful batch again… apart from the one for Laufey, which I requested, I like Hadrian’s and Hekate’s much, and Thoth’s… whaaaa, it’s difficult to decide :)

    Btw, if you’re interested and want a graphic representation, a while back I drew a picture of Laufey pregnant with Loki, which can be found here. But please, if you feel it’s not what you would have put to represent Her, then don’t worry about it, I won’t be offended or anything :) (it’s modern anyway, seeing how I drew it!)

    • Oh… I just realised you have a Laufey image there, but there seems to be a problem with link forwarding (infinite loop of sorts). It could be my browser’s cookie settings (because I’m paranoid), or something’s strange with the embedding of the image. At any rate, sorry for that… I just saw a great big white blank space. *blush*

      • No worries! It was one that came up in a random image search on Google, and it’s clearly not intended to be Laufey originally, but I liked it–“beautiful woman with important trees nearby” did it for me. ;)

    • We’re polytheists, after all–you don’t have to decide which one you like the best, you can just like all of them! (Or, a small selection of them, as you have indicated here!…I suspect a few people will back away slowly from Sekhmet’s, which might indeed be the most appropriate reaction to it, and to her in certain cases!)

      I love the image you’ve created! It’s lovely! Modern images are great, and we need more of them, so keep up the excellent work!

  3. I find Hadrian’s poem especially moving. I just read it aloud to my husband.

    • Thanks very much! I had no idea where that one was going to go, and I’m pretty happy with where it did…

  4. Enki za mi! Thank you!

    • Thank you for suggesting him!

      I always find it interesting to see how a particular culture deals with the “pregnant male god” phenomenon…and, while my queer side sort of goes “eh” slightly, in this case, I’m sort of glad that birth gets to be something that only a female goddess can do. It’s unusual enough in that respect to give one pause, at very least…!?! ;)

      • The Enki poem is beautiful. While I am hardly an expert on Sumerian and Akkadian poetics, your verse has the right “feel” to me from what I’ve read in translations.

      • Thanks so much! I had hoped it would come through in English, though I am not well versed in those languages either; but, the feel of the translations I’ve also read seems to point in that sort of direction…

  5. […] for other recent Tetrad++ poems, click here, here, and […]

  6. […] you may know, Sobek is a god that I quite like (as revealed here, here, and here, amongst other places). I wish I could offer him another new poem today, but I’m […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers