Posted by: aediculaantinoi | July 4, 2013

Diva Matidia’s Day…

Today is the dies natalis of Diva Matidia Augusta, the beloved mother-in-law of Hadrian and mother of Diva Sabina Augusta, and daughter of Diva Marciana Augusta–who, of the various Divae, for my money, has the most awesome hair ever. ;)

If you are considering honoring her, and don’t know where to begin, I suggest you consult this post from a few years ago for Hadrian’s funeral oration for her, as well as a poem I wrote her.

Today was a lot more as well. Though June 27th was the 44th anniversary of Stonewall, and the various Pride celebrations were rather raucous over the last week as a result, I did not take part in any of them due to lack of opportunity (but also because I was doing Shinto). However, today felt like a bit of a Pride moment of its own, because I walked with the Rainbow Alliance of the college where I work today in the Fourth of July parade in the town where I grew up. I’m the advisor of the club, and there was a relatively small faction of us (as we’re a small group, almost all of us were there, but still). It’s a very conservative place even now, so while I didn’t go expecting a fight or opposition, I’m also relieved that we didn’t have any of that. I am not at all happy that for the second time this year, the string of descriptors in our informational paragraph that was read at the reviewing stand of the parade was not read, and the reader paused and then skipped the sentence where they were located. Way to perpetuate the notion that gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgendered, transsexual, queer, questioning, intersexed, and asexual are words that can’t be uttered in “polite company,” and should be erased and silenced rather than stated. There will be, at very least, letters to the editor over this, particularly since it is the SECOND time it has happened in a parade with the Rainbow Alliance in Oak Harbor this year…

After that, I went with my mom to place some red, white, and blue flowers and a flag at my stepfather’s grave, since he was a Navy veteran. One of my grandmothers would have been 102 years old yesterday had she still been alive; and I stayed the night last night/this morning in my step-grandmother’s old bedroom (and she’s still very much out and about and present in the place, particularly since her ashes are interred in the backyard). So, there was quite a bit of ancestor presence and acknowledgement over the last two days as well.

More family things remain to be done this afternoon and evening, but I shall leave it there for now.

If you’ve never heard of nor listened to the words of the following song, you should–it’s educational!

Ave Diva Matidia Augusta!

Hail Columbia!


Responses

  1. […] of this week. For others, we know their birthdate (even if the year isn’t clear), like Diva Matidia, whose dies natalis was recently. Others, we only have a death-date, like the Antinoöpolitan Lovers (although it’s not […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 298 other followers