Posted by: aediculaantinoi | July 7, 2013

All in a day’s Shinto…

Even though I was there last Sunday as well, I was at the Tsubaki Grand Shrine of America again this afternoon today. My younger brother and his fiancee will be getting married soon, and neither had been to the Shrine before; my brother had expressed interest, but it never worked out with his schedule, and his fiancee was quite eager to go there at some stage. This will be her last time up here before their actual marriage ceremony in California, so things worked out for them to visit there today. (Note: the photo above is not us, it’s from a previous Shinto Seminar from last year, but apart from the people seated being different, it was otherwise much the same, down to the color of the Guji Sensei’s robes!)

As it happens, today was an auspicious day to be there, since it is the 7th day of the 7th month, which is associated with a star festival and star-crossed lovers in Shinto/Japanese tradition. My brother and his fiancee are pretty much exactly that: they met on a plane bound for Seattle from Iceland, where he was on vacation and she on business, and she changed her seat at the last second to get away from her clients for a while. (She lives in L.A., while my brother lives two towns over from me.) She sat next to my brother, they talked the entire time, and the rest is history! So, it is quite auspicious that it worked out this way…

Also, Sensei really liked my poem on Sarutahiko-no-Okami from last week, though he wanted to change the first line from “Prince of Monkey Plain” to “Primal Earthly Kami,” and under that form, he’s sent it out on their FaceBook page and will put it in their newsletter as well! I’m glad he liked it!

A short eight-week quarter starts tomorrow morning at my college, in which I’m teaching one class (the “Intro to World Religions” course), but I’ll have to be up relatively early for it due to bus schedules and such. It is three days a week for two hours and fifteen minutes each day…we’ll see how that works out, but I’m confident I won’t have any difficulty filling the time each week, especially since I’m used to doing this class in an eight-week format more generally, but for only five hours a week…and there’s always much more to talk about than we have time for. It should be fun (I hope!)

And, in case you’re wondering, the Academia Antinoi term starts tomorrow, too, though if you sign up for a course before the end of this coming week (July the 12th), that’s still fine. The tuition is $200 per eight-week course.

I hope to perhaps have something more substantial for you tomorrow; and, there are a few minor holy days coming up this week, and then some more major ones next week. So, stay tuned!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers