Posted by: aediculaantinoi | July 31, 2013

Apotheosis of the Dierne: Antinous Meets Fear*

If you want to know a bit more about the background of the present, read the following links:

Four Gods: the Dierne
(a) Fall
as we gear up for the Apotheosis of the Dierne
Fear* Returns

You’ll see below, soon, how “the Dierne” is pronounced based on the end-rhymes in the first part of the poem. Without further ado…

"Creator," by anndr, found at http://anndr.deviantart.com/art/Creator-359489089

“Creator,” by anndr, found at http://anndr.deviantart.com/art/Creator-359489089

Apotheosis of the Dierne: Antinous Meets Fear*

[The Argument, 1: Antinous the God wanders the ruins of his holy city of Antinoöpolis, fallen and pillaged, and excavated for what--if any--secrets remain concealed. His wanderings on earth invisible soon meander to the spiritual counterpart of the city, still bustling, whose edges border that of many other realms. He soon comes to the western reaches of the city on the Celestial Nile, which verge into the Westernlands, where he meets the Dierne under the otherworldly penumbra of the Emerald City, the spiritual counterpart of the Western Cascadian city of Seattle, distinguished by the monument known as the Space Needle, which in the Emerald City is the radius of the Great Goddess the Clarene.]

The star-fallen boy-king fair, the Dierne,
caught eyes with Antinous, and they smile,
while the Space Needle stands tall: the Clarene.

Mircea’s love, mask of tender care: spleen
brought him to grasp and drown in water’s bile
the star-fallen boy-king fair, the Dierne.

Antinous could not help but stare, keen,
at him whose qualities were never vile
while the Space Needle stands tall: the Clarene.

Pallis admired the fetching curled hair, clean
on Antinous, the boy drowned in Nile…
the star-fallen boy-king fair, the Dierne

Their glance devastates, pure hearts do tear, seen
by eyes of boys whose love knows not of guile–
while the Space Needle stands tall: the Clarene–

and shattered souls longing do not spare, glean
from glances a new life from their queer style–
the star-fallen boy-king fair, the Dierne–

Antinous and young Pallis, pare lean
their lovers’ many hearts in a grand pile
while the Space Needle stands tall: the Clarene.

[The Argument, 2: The two gods of absolute beauty and undeniable love, intrigued with one another, begin a subtle dance of seductive one-upmanship which leaves Antinous more emotionally exposed than he expects, nor is accustomed to being.]

One boy had been celestial, a fallen star,
always divine even before dying in stream;
without a word, Antinous saw in a flash
the whole history of the Dierne, young and fair–
but he did not attain firmament’s throne, bright,
until after the moon herself had worn his face.

But, the Dierne knew it was not so: divine face
was not his until taken, drowned, the star
which he had been in the dark firmament, so bright,
had to fall to earth, and his death in flowing stream
was the precursor to his divine state, fair,
which occurred with pain, sadness, not in a flash.

Antinous felt a welling wave, a white flash
come over him, dizzying, it flushed his face
that–amidst desire between two young gods fair,
one who attained heavens, one a fallen star,
and both were drowned and divinized in a stream–
not love, but fear, was what now in him burned bright.

He knew he was beautiful, but was beauty bright
as one born from above, his birth a nova’s flash
in the Celestial Nile, night’s flowing white stream…
was his comeliness comparable to the face
of the Dierne, the Boy Beloved of Star’…
next to him, was he plain, and not even fair?

Looks surpass virtue, he thought–and it’s not fair!
But even if he would have to burn, burn bright
and hotter even than the fire from a star
and be consumed in a climactic lovers’ flash…
it would be worth it to kiss that pristine face,
to cool his ardor in love’s lightning wind stream.

A flow was made between the two, a white stream
in which all forms of bodies intermingled, fair,
and one gave his silver crown as jewel for face
while the other gave peacock feathers, blue-bright,
and their love, though not diminished, was a flash
of energy emitted between two stars.

images

[The Argument, 3: Antinous and the Dierne, once they consummate their love, very soon begin looking in one another's closets and halls, trying on the attributes and qualities of the other, but after enjoying playing dress-up between bouts of lovemaking, and one final test, return each other's qualities to their origins, so as not to confuse mortal onlookers and those of poor understanding from confounding them in the future, despite their many similarities. They enjoy rights of visitation with one another, and extend these to their friends, family, and associates, as the God of Peaceful Connections (Antinous) and the Bridger of Worlds (the Dierne).]

I declare your weapons all,
and your clothes and jewels so fair
to be mine, if I should call,
and not one shall you spare!

Antinous, god divine,
did not rise when the Dierne
took up his thyrsus and his wine
and then wore his ivy green.

“But, Pallis, lover, darling dear,
if you take my twisting vine
then I shall take your cloak of fear
and your thunder horse as mine!”

“Well, Antinous, darling boy,
if you take my cloak and horse
then I shall play with falx as toy
and trim the holly and the gorse!”

“So, well, then, Pallis, my own love,
Aphrodite’s flower, red,
the fairest rose–not white, like dove–
I shall wear upon my head!”

“Then, Antinous, lover sweet,
if you take my reddest rose
then your adamant spear so fleet
I’ll take and hunt boars, I suppose!”

“Thus, Pallis, dear, you have my spear,
but what’s now left for me to take?
Your white peacock, I think I hear…
and my claim on him now I stake!”

“Fine! Have it, so! I do not mind,
as you go forth upon your road–
but for my hunts, from you I bind
your golden chariot and goad!”

“If racing is your passion, friend,
my chariot is yours, I deem,
but your diamond crown I’ll bend
upon my brow for sleep and dream!”

“If crowns you want, then crowns you’ll get,
and dreams so sweet you’ll hate to wake,
but for this, your oracle’s set
to be the next thing that I take!”

“So, have it, friend, with words so clear…
but now, though there may be a fuss,
I’ll take your pack of wolves so dear
though I’m already Lupercus!”

“My wolves are yours, a fearful pack,
they’ll serve you well from hour to hour–
but from the Nile’s mud so black
I’ll take your lovely lotus flower!”

“My lotus red is yours, my dear,
as is my falx and golden car,
but for this, I must have, I fear
the light of your own shining star!”

“If my star you wish as yours
I shall have your celestial barque
for on horizons far it soars
and banishes the space’s dark!”

“The Boat of Millions of Years
is now yours–where its hull has spinned
is nothing, compared to the spears
I’ll cast now with your kicking wind!”

“Then have the wind, I do not care,
for wind so freely flies and blows;
but give me now your curling hair
so fragrant, fine, where’er it goes!”

“My hair is yours, you fickle thing!
But now, from you, I shall have gain
of your maidens, and the flowers they bring
as my own maenadic train!”

“If maids you want, then maids I gave,
and from you one more thing I’ll have–
and not one part, then, can you save;
no, not a fraction, not a half!”

“So, what’s this thing you want, my love,
what is your wish now from me?
You have all I’ve given above–
what is left for you to see?”

“I’ll take your twice Imperator,
I’ll take your three times Consul man,
I’ll take your Pater Patriae:
I’ll take your lover, Hadrian!”

The Bithynian Boy then paused,
and turned, then shed a tear, and faced
the Dierne, whom his upset caused,
and terror on his brow was traced.

“Very well, my love, I say,
for what am I but lowly boy?
And, he, for youthful beauty gay
has always had the greatest joy…

“Therefore, lover, if you wish,
then Hadrian your love will be–
I’ll eat now from another dish
and you’ll be the replacement ‘me.'”

Pallis frowned, and then he said,
“Why would you so simply give
the lover for whose love you’re dead
and for whom you now die to live?”

“In life, I feared a day would pass
when time and wear and battle scars
and age’s hair upon my ass
would raise another to the stars…

“But now, as god, and him divine
in all the wonders of this place
I am content and will not pine
when better gods will me replace.”

“My lover, my dear love, oh no–
Antinous, it was a jest,
for I would never have it so,
and you it is he loves the best!

“This was just a little test
and you have passed it, my dear friend!
Your generosity and zest:
may both of these never end!”

Then, lightly laughing, both laid down,
and fear and sadness washed away;
they fucked, in flailing limbs they drown…
and what more is there to say? ;)


Responses

  1. A very lovely work, especially fun to read aloud.

    • Thank you!

      And, since you are equipped with the proper knowledge to do so: try singing the last part of the poem, in the ballad meter, to any of your favorite ballad tunes–as I wrote it, the one I had in mind very much was S. J. Tucker/Tricky Pixie’s “Tam Lin,” to which it fits perfectly…! ;)

  2. I really, really enjoyed this. I love the image of gods going through each others’ closets and borrowing things.

    • Thank you!

      Given that said image came up in recent conversations, and this seemed an ideal place to play with it, it all worked out…I had no idea how that last part of the poem would go, or where it would go–and, initially, I just thought it a fun context and notion with which to do a folk ballad that can be added to greatly at some future date, etc. Little did I know…! ;)

  3. […] me we’re talking about here!)…and of course, a great deal about our respective gods and the process of creating this in relation to Antinous and the Dierne and what is ultimately process t… got in there, […]

  4. […] Contemplation Action Antinous Meets Fear* fantastic four of faery: Imagery North West Wind: Imagery Otherfaith […]

  5. […] he is connected to some of our spirits (in a purely personal doxa way), and P. Sufenas Virius Lupus wrote beautiful poetry on various meetings between our Dierne and Antinous for the 2013 Apotheosis of the Dierne. While I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers