Posted by: aediculaantinoi | August 30, 2013

“The Pagan/Polytheist Tarot”: The Dead Version

Sorry, folks–only this can suffice for new content today, as I’ve got quite a lot to do, and not enough brainpower to be divided in my efforts today…

For those of you who read my last post and the motivations for it, a version of “The Pagan/Polytheist Tarot” which includes a variety of people important in these religious categories who are no longer living seems to be as equally intriguing as the previous one. (And, I may have an addendum to the previous one in the near future, too…)

I am only going to do the Major Arcana for this, so as not to over-tax myself.

Without further ado…

The Major Arcana

The Fool: Isaac Bonewits

The Magician: Scott Cunningham

The High Priestess: Doreen Valiente

The Empress: Helena Petrovna Blavatsky

The Emperor: Alex Sanders

The Hierophant: Gerald Gardner

The Lovers: Victor and Cora Anderson

The Chariot: Arthur Edward Waite

Strength: George Ivanovich Gurdjieff

The Hermit: Robert Cochrane

Wheel of Fortune: Edmund Buczynski

Justice: Carl Gustav Jung

The Hanged Man: Iolo Morganwg

Death: Jack Parsons

Temperance: Robert Graves

The Devil: Aleister Crowley

The Tower: Margaret Murray

The Star: Samuel Liddell MacGregor Mathers

The Moon: Charles Godfrey Leland

The Sun: Gwydion Pendderwen

Judgement: Emperor Julian the Philosopher

The World: Ross Nichols

*****

So…what do you reckon? ;)


Responses

  1. I think this is a very insightful list, though I’ll admit to an LOL when I came across who you’d chosen for The Tower. ;)

    • Nice, innit? ;) When I think of The Tower, I think of “ruinous things,” and her entire theory is rather ruinous at this point, so…

      • Ruinous to be taken seriously, and to be repeated as “history”, to be sure, but I can’t be too upset with her since it’s possible that without her theory I wouldn’t be on the path that I am. And that’d give me a sad.

      • Oh, no, I don’t dispute her importance to things as a whole, but the way her theory was taken as history, and the way in which yet another religion which claims to know the difference between myth and history got it just as wrong as other religions that do the same, is rather disastrous…but anyway…

      • I agree completely. And it’s pernicious, too. Every once in awhile I encounter people who take her work seriously (not to mention the Burning Times!) and every time I have to do a quadruple take.

      • And who is the woman who’s got her feet against his knees? I’ll bet her buns are the best! ;)

      • That would be the lucky woman who is his fiancée, and I’m sure they are. ;)

      • Oh? I didn’t know that…fascinating! What a lucky woman indeed!

    • As did I.

  2. I love Crowley as the Devil. LOL! Very fitting!

    I’d make Cochrane more important, and add Evan John Jones somewhere :)

    • I’m not familiar with Jones at all…

      There’s nothing unimportant about The Hermit! ;)

  3. […] the last few days, the posts I did on the “Living” and “Dead” versions of “The Pagan/Polytheist Tarot” have been, I hope if nothing else, good for a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers