Posted by: aediculaantinoi | November 4, 2013

Wisdom from Mandoulis’ Temple…

I’ve been reading bits from Arthur Darby Nock’s Essays on Religion and the Ancient World over the last few days, and look forward to reading more of it in the near future, in between full-length books that I am also reading and reviewing, on which more in the near future…

But, one of the things I was particularly looking for held, in certain parts, further treasures than I was expecting. There’s an article called “A Vision of Mandulis Aion,” and it has several partial translations of various inscriptions in it from a temple of the Nubian god Mandoulis at Talmis in Egypt. Here’s one that I think is great:

Maxims of Sansnos

Revere the divine.
Sacrifice to all the gods.
Travel in homage to each temple.
Believe above all in your ancestral gods and revere Isis and Sarapis, the greatest of the gods, saviors, good, kindly, benefactors.

While perhaps not as lengthy nor compelling as the Delphic Maxims, nonetheless some good and solid advice, wouldn’t you say?

And, here’s the vision of Mandoulis:

O rayshooting lord Mandoulis, Titan, Makareus, having beheld some radiant signs of thy power I pondered on them and was busied therewith, wishing to know with confidence whether thou art the sungod. I made myself a stranger to all vice and all godlessness, was chaste for a considerable period, and offered the due incense offering in holy piety. I had a vision and found rest for my soul. For thou didst grant my prayer and show me thyself going through the heavenly vault; then washing thyself in the holy water of immortality thou didst appear again. Thou didst come at due season to thy shrine, making thy rising, and giving to thy image to they shrine divine breath and great power. Then I knew thee, Mandoulis, to be the Sun, the allseeing master, king of all, allpowerful Eternity. O happy folk, that dwell in the city beloved of the Sun Mandoulis, even holy Talmis, which is under the scepter of the fairtressed Isis onof the countless names.

So, while there is some solar syncretism going on here–and possibly, with the mention of Isis, even some suggestion of Horus syncretism (which is somewhat standard for Mandoulis), nonetheless, it’s sort of fascinating to see how a person sought out a vision as answer to a question, and gave some details on how to prepare for such an experience.

But, you know: apparently, “regular people” in Egypt weren’t pious and didn’t have such a thing as piety. :( [No, of course, I don't mean that even remotely; but, it's been stated by a few people recently on th'internet, so you know it must be true.]


Responses

  1. This makes me happy.

  2. … People thought the ancient Egyptian laity weren’t pious? Really? How bizarre.

    • Yeah–I know, right? Crazy…

      There’s a link on Sannion’s blog from the last two weeks or so, when he responded to that notion when someone wrote a blog post on it elsewhere. I’m dumbfounded that the argument was being made at all…and, the crux of it almost seemed to be “that’s a Greek concept, not an Egyptian one,” but it gets rather more ridiculous from there.

      [Trying not to get involved in another stupid argument amongst polytheists...and failing...!?!]

      • Oh! I remember that bit, now. But I was under the impression the argument was about ritual purity, not piety? Just because I remember that quote, because I saw the counter-response because Galina used “miasma” as bit of a catch-all term, and while I understood why she used it, I also understood that it could be viewed as not fitting properly into an Egyptian worldview? If that makes sense?

        I didn’t keep up with it that much, beyond going back to Galina’s original blog post and following a bit here and there from Sannion’s blog. So I might have missed out on other conversations?

      • There definitely was that; but there was also one on piety, if I’m remembering correctly…Perhaps I’m not–and if so, *Never Mind!* (With honor and respect to Gilda Radner…)

  3. […] known (and very commonly misunderstood) in modern parlance as “Nubian” culture. The god Mandoulis is one such deity; and the leonine Apedemak is another. Part of me sees these gods as any other […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers