Posted by: aediculaantinoi | November 9, 2013

Three Days of Devotion (Times Ten…!?!)

While I’m never short on potential ideas for what to post on the blog here (and I’ve got three that I hope to get to in the next few days), nonetheless, interesting things always come up and suggest themselves, and I’ve had one…

There aren’t really any major holy days for me here until the 19th of this month, which is still ten days away. So, to augment the other things that I’m doing during the time until then, I thought I’d do a bit of something else.

You’ll have seen that various other people have been doing this Thirty Days of Devotion meme. I have written thousands of words on many of those topics previously, here and elsewhere, and I could likely write thousands more on any of them…but, that’s kind of what I do, so there’s not a great deal in that which would be me doing anything other than “going through the devotion-motions {de-motions?!?],” which may be all right, but I sort of like a challenge when I do things like this…

So, instead, my challenge to myself is to do all thirty days of devotion in three days, with the caveat being that I cannot answer any single question with more than twenty words. As I’m naturally verbose, that really is a challenge…it will be like trying to go from an epic poem to writing a haiku, sort of…!?! Though, I expect on some I will inevitably fail, including the ones I will be doing today.

Thus, without any further ado, here we go! ;)

I. A basic introduction of the deity
Antinous of Bithynia was the deified/heroized lover of the Emperor Hadrian, who became a widely worshipped super-syncretistic deity of late antiquity.

II. How did you become first aware of this deity?
Through John Boswell’s Christianity, Social Tolerance, and Homosexuality in 1998, then in 2002 I heard about him again through the ANDROGYNE Yahoo!Groups list, and found other modern worshippers of him.

III. Symbols and icons of this deity
A star in the constellation Aquila, which was part of the former constellation of Ganymede/Antinous; the Pamphobeteus antinous spider, or spiders generally; the Antinoeios or Red Nile Lotus flower; an obelisk; a lion; a spear; the moon.

IV. A favorite myth or myths of this deity
There’s really only one to speak of that isn’t entirely novel: the Lion Hunt of Antinous and Hadrian.

V. Members of the family – genealogical connections
His mother Mantinoë (and/or Aphrodite?); his father Hermes (?); his lover Divus Hadrianus Augustus; his lover’s wife Diva Sabina Augusta; his lover’s adopted sons Divus Aelius Caesar and Divus Antoninus Pius; his bride Selene; his children and grandchildren, the Tetrad++ Group (Panpsyche, Panhyle, Paneros, Pancrates, Paneris, Panprosdexia); Polydeukion, Memnon, Achilles, and the family of Herodes Attikos; Lucius Marius Vitalis; and a whole pile of other deities, heroes, Divi/ae, Sancti, and others who have become related to him via various connections.

VI. Other related deities and entities associated with this deity
Diana, Hathor and Bes, Thoth, Re-Harakhte, Hapi, and various others (see above, V, and below, VII and VIII).

VII. Names and epithets
Antinous the Lover, Antinous the Liberator, Antinous the Navigator; Antinous Choreios, Antinous Musegetikos, Antinous Neos Hermes, Antinous Neos Iakkhos, Antinous Neos Pythios; Antinous Deus Amabilis, Antinous Deus Frugiferus; and various other syncretisms.

VIII. Variations on this deity (aspects, regional forms, etc.)
All of the various syncretists of Antinous not already named (as well as already named!).

IX. Common mistakes about this deity
That he is a “gay god” or “the god of homosexuality”; that he was the “last god of Rome/of the ancient world” (Glykon was 5-10 years later than him–and I’m sure he wasn’t even the last one! That’s polytheism for you!); that his syncretisms make him equal to other gods/heroes, or that he himself combines the characteristics of all those others in himself and thus replaces them.

X. Offerings – historical and UPG
We know of none in particular from the ancient world; in the modern world, pomegranate juice, chocolate oranges, storax oil/incense are some of the most commonly offered and appreciated.

May Antinous be praised!


Responses

  1. Ave Antinoe!

  2. […] at about this time last night, I started the first post that is thirty days of devotion concentrated down into three, with a few caveats and self-imposed limitations to try and challenge myself with…and, I […]

  3. […] the first dayfirst day, you’ll see I was pretty well able to keep most of my answers short; on the second […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 298 other followers