Posted by: aediculaantinoi | November 13, 2013

Queen of Olympos: A Devotional Anthology for Hera and Iuno–Out Now!

Bibliotheca Alexandrina, the publishing arm of Neos Alexandria, has just released its latest devotional anthology, Queen of Olympos: A Devotional Anthology for Hera and Iuno, edited by Lykeia.

Congratulations to BA, to NA, to Lykeia (thank you for doing this important work!), and to all who contributed to it–and to the goddesses in whose honor this work was undertaken!

I have four poems and two essays in it. The poems are:

“Adorations of Juno”
“Juno at Lullingstone”
“Hera Megala Meter”
“Juno Regina Caelestis”

And the two essays are:

“Hera, Mother of Typhon: The Perils of Greek Virgin Birth”
“‘Shrewish Princess’?: Diva Sabina Augusta and the Hera/Juno Syncretism”

I have to say, I really enjoyed putting all of these together. The “Juno at Lullingstone” poem came out of nowhere, pretty much; the others were a bit more predictable, but I think I like “Hera Megala Meter” the best, for a variety of reasons that have to do with upcoming theological projects and developments.

One of the things that I like about the devotional anthologies is that I get to know deities that might not be some of my major or usual ones in the process of producing work for them. As a polytheist, that’s incredibly important to me, and I hope that I not only honor the deities to whom each devotional is dedicated well and properly, but I also hope that I make connections between them and other deities (including those ones I serve more directly) as I do so.

So, want to get a copy for yourself, or for a loved one for Sigillaria? Here’s the place to do it!


Responses

  1. Great!

  2. […] where anthologies are concerned. There was my pieces in harnessing Fire, for Hephaistos, and also my pieces in Queen of Olympos, for Hera and Juno. There were also further publications that I have not yet received, including one that just came […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers