Posted by: aediculaantinoi | December 5, 2013

These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things…

“The hills are alive with the sound of music,” by Natalie Dee

Many individuals I’ve known over the years have often done “Thankful Thursday” posts for long periods of time, often on LiveJournal or other personaly blogging sites. I try to be thankful as often as possible, not just on Thursdays; and yet, sometimes it’s good to just stop and list a few things for which one is thankful that may not receive as much attention as at other times.

I thought today might be a good day to do this, because, to be blunt, The Sound of Music is on tonight.

Lots of gay men love The Sound of Music, it’s true…but since I’m neither “gay” nor “a man,” I don’t necessarily share that–even though I did teach myself “Do-Re-Mi” on the piano when I was in the first grade…!?! But, strangely enough, I’ve only seen the movie all the way through once, and though I like Stephen Moyer a lot, I don’t know if I’ll have the patience to watch the live television event tonight.

So, to list a few things for which I’m genuinely thankful and which make me happy, here is my own version of the well-known song from The Sound of Music…hope you like it!

Cameron3

Special collections in college libraries
Minoan brothers and Radical Faeries
Jigs, reels, Schottisches, Strathspeys, Highland Flings…
These are a few of my favorite things.

Eros_Farnese_MAN_Napoli_6353

Chocolate milkshakes and blue blown-glass bottles
2(X)ist skivvies on handsome, hot models
Statues of Eros with feathery wings…
These are a few of my favorite things.

Terry's-Dark-Chocolate-Orange-737358

Cute twink-y boys who are real good singers
One hundred minutes spent on cunnilingus
Chocolate oranges as food offerings…
These are a few of my favorite things.

When Halstead writes,
When cell phone rings,
When I’m feeling sad…
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad!

CT00111T

Werewolves from Ireland and lesbian vampires
Telling old stories ’round big roaring campfires
Dressing up smartly with brass SteamPunk bling…
These are a few of my favorite things.

lady-gaga-applause-music-video-13

Books and interviews with big Stephen Fry–
and almost all episodes of Q.I.!–
and Lady GaGa on stage when she sings…
These are a few of my favorite things.

Old Roman Emperors’ Bithynian boyfriends
Speedos that question prevailing fashion trends
Worshipping gods and the virtue it brings…
These are a few of my favorite things.

When Halstead writes,
When cell phone rings,
When I’m feeling sad…
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad!


Responses

  1. These are some of my favorite things too! =D

    • Probably some more so than others, but still…!

      And, these are only a few of my favorite things…to list them all, we’d be here all year (and by “all year,” I mean 2014!). ;)

      • The winter season seems the best time of a year for listing our favorite things, in comments for this blog post in particular… however long the lists were! :)

  2. What a splendid performance from you, AediculaAntinoi! Only a teeny bit of your favorite things is familiar to me; few if any of your favorite things I share with you; but I know the movie The Sound of Music (happened to enjoy it, watching it with my late grandmother together, two or three times, and today, it looks like the Internet is the only place in my life where I can hear of this old movie again, with all the touching reminiscences.) Thank you for the lovely reminder.

  3. Very amusing ;-)

    • quirky is the right word.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 298 other followers