Posted by: aediculaantinoi | December 7, 2013

In the last moments…

I didn’t think I’d be back in time to do a post here on the blog for the day, but I am…just barely.

I was just down in Seattle with several friends at the local wedding reception of some folks we know who got married in California a few weeks ago. It was quite lovely to hang out with friends I knew already, and to get to know some friends I don’t know that well better and to be in their presence for longer, and to meet a few new people as well. All in all, a lovely evening with music, food, friends, good conversation, and amazing surroundings.

But, it was also the last time that I’ll see Erynn Rowan Laurie in person while she lives here in the U.S. Sure, I know I’ll see her in years to come, and even in about three or four months from now, but it was still a kind of moment to reflect on who this land is losing as a resident, at least for me. I’ve already said goodbye in various ways to the home she made and that I was a part of for a while (and which she herself cleared out of earlier today), but today was the goodbye to the person herself. It was brief, it was to the point, and it was in essence a “see you soon” rather than a goodbye, as one always hopes these sorts of things are (and I know it will be exactly that), but still…

Now, I must look after some health issues. But I hope everyone had a good day today…and will be gearing up for a wonderful Tiberinalia tomorrow!


Responses

  1. One of the things that I really liked from the film Masters of the Universe was how they dealt with farewells. “In Eternia, we don’t say goodbye, we say good journey.”

    Good journey Erynn!

    • I hadn’t seen that for a long time–thanks for the reminder!

  2. […] am, however (as you may recall from yesterday), thinking more of someone who is a Mystes of Antinous today than the god of the Tiber. So, I will […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers