Posted by: aediculaantinoi | December 22, 2013

To Nyx

For a complex set of reasons that I will be saying more about over the next few days, I’ll be sharing–as a kind of “Sigillaria gift” of sorts–a number of poems I wrote several months ago, which I expected to appear in published form by now, but which haven’t/didn’t for reasons that are still not clear to me. I won’t say a lot more about it in the meantime to protect the potentially innocent and/or guilty parties, but given that last night was her “big night,” and she is always the BIG NIGHT, I would give pride of place in presenting these poems to Nyx. So, here it is.

To Nyx

I sing to you, queen before the heavens existed,
firstborn of goddesses, daughter of Chaos,
lady undaunted, her dark cloak overpowering all.

Every star in the firmament is but a fraction
of the beauty of your coronet, complete in constellations,
and the firmament itself is your thin tiara.

Pythagoras could not count the diamonds in your diadem,
nor could he calculate a single harmony of the spheres
which whirl and sing to you upon your ineffable skin.

There is no god on the earth nor goddess in the heavens
who does not exist enclosed within your blackness,
first goddess, eldest queen, dark lady over all–hail to you!


Responses

  1. Stunning.
    Thank you for writing this, and for sharing it.

  2. […] http://aediculaantinoi.wordpress.com/2013/12/22/to-nyx/#comment-22621 […]

  3. Wow! Yessssssssss.

  4. Reblogged this on Thracian Exodus.

  5. […] keep the bad things away, is the rest of the poems I wrote that were not published, which included this and these. Let me […]

  6. I’ve been meaning to ask for a few weeks now (but repeatedly brain-fart when i get back to the computer): Would I be able to use this in the upcoming Nocturnal Spirits anthology? If not, it’s all cool, but I thought it would be a great addition.

    • Certainly! That sounds awesome! Let me know what else I need to send you to make this happen, and what the best e-mail for that purpose would be. Mine is aediculaantinoi (at) hotmail (dot) com! Thanks for asking, and for doing this publication!

  7. […] to see some pieces from others. I’ve already got permission from PSVL to featur eir “To Nyx” (and I’ll be sending e the form I’ve been collecting esigs on, before I go to […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 301 other followers