Posted by: aediculaantinoi | January 1, 2014

The First Ianus…

At the head of the year, I praise Ianus,
the god who sees the beginning of the year first
and who sees the end of the year last.

I praise you in my goings and in my comings,
I praise you in my arrivals and in my departures,
I praise you in my greetings and my leave-takings.

I praise you on the roadways and at the crossings,
I praise you upon the sea and at the dockings,
I praise you within the air and at the airports.

I praise you as the way-opener for every god,
I praise you as the path-maker for each goddess,
I praise you as the ianitor for all divine beings.

I praise you as the friend of Antinous,
I praise you as the consoler of Hadrian,
I praise you as the protector of Sabina.

May your arrival and your departures be blessed
by all of the gods and goddesses and divine beings,
and may my work be worthy of your blessings as well.

*****

[And, if you'd like to see more on Ianus, have a look at this.]

Ave Iane! Ave Hadriane! Ave Sabina! Ave Ave Antinoe!


Responses

  1. Ave [insert correct vocative case] Janus! May we blessed in 2014 CE. You are remembered.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 301 other followers