Posted by: aediculaantinoi | January 15, 2014

Ignis Corporis Infirmat, Ignis sed Animae Perstat Hyperion…

I hate it when the events of the world give me a topic that I must post about on this blog…and, in a very unfortunate, unexpected, and upsetting fashion, that is exactly what has happened.

As many of you will be aware at this stage, Eddy Gutiérrez/Dr. E./Hyperion, who was the founder of the Unnamed Path (and a participant in many other spiritual traditions), died unexpectedly yesterday. I heard this from my friend, colleague, and “AssistesSoli, late last night after 17+ hours at work and being out of internet contact for more than 10 hours.

I’m also very upset that the one photo I have of us together, which I posted on this entry on my blog almost three years ago, doesn’t seem to exist elsewhere on the internet any longer. Gods-fucking-damnit…

So, here’s the photo of him that was posted on The Wild Hunt piece linked to above, as it will have to suffice, and in any case portrays him very much as I knew and will remember him.

Eddy Gutierrez Hyperion

As you might be able to see from the past post at this blog I linked to above, Hyperion (as I knew him in the contexts in which we interacted most at PantheaCon and otherwise) did not really agree on many things, either theologically or methodologically or in terms of our own spiritual anthropologies, psychologies, or technologies. There were some quite blatant and direct misunderstandings between us, that if given time I’m sure we could have reached a resolution on, but at present, that can’t be helped…

And yet, I always found Hyperion to be affable, loving, and good company for what little time we were able to spend together in person, and one could not ask for anything more or better out of anyone, in my opinion.

Not long after the PantheaCon events above, Hyperion contacted me about being interviewed for his Unnamed Path podcast, and we taped a rather long interview, which never ended up being made available (for whatever reason…and I’m sure it was an entirely understandable one). I remember thinking that there was much of potential use in our conversation on that occasion, but there were also a few (amusing, at least to me) further misunderstandings–for example, toward the end of our conversation, he mentioned my name again to re-cap who he’d been speaking with, and he thought that the “P.” in “P. Sufenas Virius Lupus” stood for Pater, since I was the “head” of the “household” of the Ekklesía Antínoou…which means, dear friends, that he was essentially calling me daddy, which to me is hysterical in a variety of ways. ;)

I miss him already, even though I didn’t know him that well…and in fact, I was just thinking of him the other day for a variety of reasons. Firstly, because PantheaCon is coming up, and so I’d be bound to pass him in the halls at least a few times and have a few words with him. Secondly, because I remember passing him on the stairs one time there, and he was in whites because he was on the way to the Danballah Sevis; I had never attended that event before, but at this PantheaCon to come, I will most certainly be attending it, and I suspect he would have been there, too. Thirdly, and perhaps most lamentably, I also wanted to do Communalia with him and representatives of the Unnamed Path, because–damnit!–it’s far more important as modern queer people within our differing spiritual contexts and frameworks to have some solidarity within a mutual respect for each other’s differences, and I think we had that…but, it doesn’t hurt to make oaths to that effect before our gods to make sure we keep to it, if it is that important (and it is!) and we take it that seriously (and, I think, we did and do!).

I also am worried for the fate of those who participate in the Unnamed Path. No, it wasn’t for me and would not work for me (for a variety of reasons, including that I’m not a “man”), but I know that it deeply touched and impacted and shaped and inspired many people, and I hope their work within that tradition and path continues. It’s hard for groups that are relatively new to survive the deaths of their founders, and so I hope that it does continue with the dedication and diligent devotion of those who are still alive and are followers of it. (And, perhaps I can do Communalia with them at some point.)

Hyperion may not have been a major part of my life, but I cannot help but feel that his death is a major loss to myself and to many many others who were more involved with him and were more closely connected to him. I’m sad for our loss, and I’m also angry that this happened at this point (and this is likewise a reminder that this sort of thing can happen to any of us at any time…therefore, don’t take any moment for granted!), and I truly wish that I had done more and done better in reaching out and connecting with Hyperion while I had the ability to do so…I should have e-mailed the other day when I thought about him.

What I cannot help in life, though, perhaps I can help in death.

You may note that Ignis Corporis Infirmat, Ignis sed Animae Perstat is something that in the context of the Ekklesía Antínoou, we only say in relation to the Sancta/e/i. Well, yes indeed, Hyperion (in all of his names and roles) will be a Sanctus of the Ekklesía Antínoou, as one of “The Blessed Figures, Prophets, Writers, and Artists of Spiritual Homoeros”–he was certainly that, and so much more, and must therefore never be forgotten.

In a presentation Hyperion gave on the Unnamed Path at PantheaCon, he spoke about how queer people die, approach the cauldron of rebirth, and say “Nuh-uh sister, I’m not goin’ in there!” and then end up becoming the Mighty Dead. While I don’t know if that is a rule that is certain for all queer people, what I do know is that for my own part, Hyperion will be among those collective ancestors we know as the Sancta/e/i of the Ekklesía Antínoou, enjoying the Boat of Millions of Years with Antinous and many other holy ancestors, and I suspect he’ll be very happy to have access to that particular “Ship of Fools” in his afterlife journeys.

If you are able to do so, please consider donating to his memorial fund so that his surviving family and loved ones can see to his end-of-life expenses. Every little bit helps.

Gods, I miss you already, Hyperion. May your onward journeys be blessed and full of surprises, love, and peace for you!

Ignis Corporis Infirmat, Ignis sed Animae Perstat!
Ignis Corporis Infirmat, Ignis sed Animae Perstat!
Ignis Corporis Infirmat, Ignis sed Animae Perstat!


Responses

  1. I cannot being to express how touched I am, and how wonderful this is. While I do not fully understand your tradition, being that I learned through osmosis by being at Eddy’s side as a form of support during Pantheacon, I can greatly appreciate what this means in the spiritual sense. I’m humbled, as I am sure is Eddy now also, watching from the other side.

    • Thank you for stopping by in this difficult time–I truly appreciate it, and you, and very certainly Eddy…and, it’s the least I could do, and very definitely what he deserves.

      For our records on these matters, can you tell me his date of birth and the specifics on his date of death? (While I don’t have to know the exact times of either, by any means, I want to make sure it is right for our future celebrations and markings of his Dies Sancti.)

  2. May he be remembered well.

  3. Thank you so much for doing this, PSVL. I know how much it means to his family, and it certainly means a great deal to me. It’s also important for the LGBT community as a whole, to honor how much Eddy gave to and for the community. The relevant dates are 1 January 1976 and 14 January 2014, incidentally. May he rise in power.

    • Thank you–it’s the least I can do, really.

      Eddy was a few months older than me…and I’m amazed he’s a child of Jan. 1! His work was Ianus-like in all of the right ways, strangely enough…and interestingly Asklepian as well (both Ianus and Asklepios have holy days on Jan. 1).

  4. […] communities lost two important elders and tradition-founders: Lady Olivia Durdin Robertson and Rev. Dr. Eddy Hyperion Gutiérrez. Both are now, and have been, Sancta/e/i of the Ekklesía Antínoou–there was little question […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers