Posted by: aediculaantinoi | February 17, 2014

…And, It’s Still A Privilege To Be Posting Again!

My apologies for not being in contact while at PantheaCon–I’ve not seen e-mail or anything on the internet since very early Friday morning, so I hope to respond to comments and such in the next few days.

I am at the airport in Seattle once again, waiting for my shuttle back to the islands that I love and where I live, after a very successful, informative, surprising, and encouraging (but also tiring!) PantheaCon. I will elaborate further on all of the points below, but just a few things about it in brief:

1) My Ephesia Grammata practice is the combination of research, reconstructionist-methodology-based practice, and personal spiritual experience and insight…and, it is fully suitable for usage by others, and in fact is both something they want and something that people felt very powerfully when I used it. The book’ll be out soon! ;)

2) I met the writer of the Heathen Chinese blog, and he’s awesome!

3) Meeting people makes all the difference.

4) Jason Mankey, John Beckett, Niki Whiting, and John Halstead and his wife had Mega-Patheos Pagan Breakfast the other day, and the world didn’t explode…and, three of the five people named in that previous clause came to my Beard Blessing Ritual this morning, and two of them weren’t Jason Mankey or Niki Whiting, and they all had a great time! (As did several other well-known BNPs, including Don Frew and Margot Adler!) For a 9 AM session on Monday, that was pretty feckin’ good…and, we had more people attend that event than any other I held/was personally responsible for all weekend.

5) I expected there to be teenagers and 20-somethings at the Youth Blessing Ritual; instead, there were some parents, a few older single individuals, and then about 8 or 9 children under the age of 10 (and about 3 under the age of 5)! I have proven that it is possible to do reconstructionist-based ritual with TWO foreign languages in it (which one very precocious 8-year old responded to with “Now can you translate that?”), and have them get something out of it and have fun, too.

6) The most moving thing of the weekend was the sanctification ritual for Lady Olivia and Hyperion, which many notables who had met Lady Olivia attended, not to mention a huge number of The Unnamed Path practitioners, and Hyperion’s bereaved partner, and his mother (who was awesome!–she said, “I’ll always remember Eddy as the kid I helped learn to tie his shoes…and now he’s a saint, and I’m the mother of a saint!”). It was beautiful, and well-auspiced by a variety of birds that arrived and departed at significant points in the ritual, and was probably the most important event during the whole weekend as far as actual spiritual work was concerned.

7) Duffi is a gift from the gods, and without her, it would have been well-nigh impossible to have had a successful weekend.

The Ekklesía Antínoou’s public knowledge and renown has increased dramatically as a result of all that occurred. It was awesome.

And, now, I hope to hit the shuttle, and then hit the bed very hard, as I’ve got a 17-hour day ahead of me tomorrow. I may not get decent sleep until Tuesday night, but I’ll take what I can get.

I hope all of you are well in the meantime!


Responses

  1. Oh hush. It is you that is a gift of the gods! (Thanks for the mention.)
    Rest well!

  2. Thanks for the compliment. It was good to meet you as well!

  3. Wonderful! Safe journey and safe return home.

  4. […] the Midwest, which meant we had to stay an extra day.  But that also meant that we got to attend PSVL’s Beard Blessing Ritual — which, by the way, was open to all, all genders and sexual orientations, whether bearded or […]

  5. I really enjoyed the Ephesia Grammata talk. Great start to the con, and I will definitely be looking for ways to integrate this into my personal practice. Can’t wait for the book!

    • Very cool!

      It’s an extremely useful, adaptable, productive practice, and I ended up using it not only in my daily devotions (as I always do), but in several other events each day at the con’ (in fact, I did it with/for others at least once a day every day of it!). So, I hope people will find it as useful as I have.

  6. […] it’s hard to disentangle where to begin with PantheaCon this year (even though I’ve already taken a stab at that), and I suspect I may have to devote an entire entry to each event that I organized or participated […]

  7. […] far in my PantheaCon 2014 coverage, in addition to some general comments on it, I’ve been able to review in-depth the two rituals the Ekklesía Antínoou did on […]

  8. […] In the airpot again, but nearly home… A Speech by Favorinus of Arles A Poem for Duffi A Poem for the Coru Cathubodua’s Temple of the Morrígan […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers