Posted by: aediculaantinoi | February 22, 2014

Caristia: Denied…

Today brings the Parentalia to a close, with a feast known as the Caristia, which is meant to solidify one’s improved relations with the ancestors with one’s living relatives and communities.

I was hoping to meet Rhyd Wildermuth today, as he’s in Seattle for FaerieCon West.

Unfortunately, the deities who oversee snow decided we needed to get a bit of it today, and thus I awoke this morning to a blanket of it in my town, and likewise the next town down, where a friend was going to be driving from to pick me up and take me to Seattle for said meeting. He wanted to brave the snow anyway, and was going to see if a borrowed SUV might be able to make that happen; however, said SUV wouldn’t start, so we had to call the whole thing off.

Drat. I was really looking forward to meeting Rhyd.

However, all is not lost, as he’ll be up here again in the coming months, if all goes well.

There’s more to say about PantheaCon, and I think I’ll try and do another long-ish post on it shortly (“however long it takes me to write about whatever it is I write about” = “shortly”!), so stay tuned for that, if you like.

In the meantime, I hope that your Parentalia observances have been good over the last ten days, and that your Caristia solidifies your relationships to all in your living communities meanwhile!


Responses

  1. Is “Caristia” from the same root as “Charism”, then? -E-

    • No; Caristia is Latin, while “charism” and its related terms all derive from the Greek kharis.

      • Ahh. Always more for me to learn, and you are always highly educational, even if just incidentally.

        Thank you.

        -E-


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers