Posted by: aediculaantinoi | March 11, 2014

PantheaCon 2014: Pagans and Privilege Panel Now Available at T. Thorn Coyle’s Elemental Castings Podcast!

So, amongst my various PantheaCon posts for this year (of which I still have one to go…!), the one which has had the most traffic and has been a hot-button issue around the general Pagan Intarwebz of late is the Wiccanate Privilege discussion. However, there was another discussion, in one of the main ballrooms and on the main PantheaCon program, on “Pagans and Privilege,” which I mentioned here.

The panel was organized and moderated by T. Thorn Coyle, and included Crystal Blanton, Charlie Glickman, Xochiquetzal Duti Odinsdottir, and Elena Rose Vera. It can now be listened to here, and I highly suggest everyone who is interested in this topic do so.

[And not just because I got to ask a question and make a comment!--but, I won't say when/where in the podcast, because you NEED TO LISTEN TO THE WHOLE THING!!!]

One of the other audience members who spoke was Tenisia (I’m not sure about the spelling of her name, for which I apologize deeply!), and she is really awesome as well, and I was able to speak with her a few times during the days after the panel. I hope to do so more in the future!

And, immediately after I made my suggestion/comment, I had someone hand me a card and say that they were putting their webmaster on editing out all of the “he/she” language from their website. I made that suggestion a while back, and I’m glad many people are making those changes now–us metagenders and other (as Charlie Glickman said) creatively-gendered individuals thank you for it! ;)

I’d not only recommend that anyone and everyone listen to this podcast, but I’d especially recommend those who still don’t think that Wiccanate Privilege is “real” listen to it, and take some of the suggestions that the panelists make into your consideration. No, privilege in itself isn’t bad, but the lack of recognition that privilege entails access, and that it allows or denies access in a variety of different ways, is the real problem that all of us loud and argumentative–and even us “reasonable”–polytheists have been speaking about and pointing out and, where necessary, calling out.


Responses

  1. I have to be honest, I will be listening and trying so hard not to cringe when I speak up. I have an aversion to myself in recorded materials. It’s really quite infuriating to have such a feeling…

    Breathing and encouraged. So glad you came to the panel!

    • I know what you mean–not at your voice, but my own, as I don’t always sound like I’d prefer to sound…

      But, I thought you were spectacular in this! (As was Elena, and Crystal, and Charlie, and Thorn–and, even me!)

      It was an excellent and important event; I’m half-thinking I ought to just make all of my classes, no matter what they are, listen to it. Probably not, but anyway…!?! ;)

      • Okay, after all that… I sounded *okay* but AUGH… *cringecringecringe*

        And I can send you Aine’s email info later!

      • Please do! That would be awesome! ;)

  2. I wish I could’ve been at that panel (especially since the first open question dropped my name as Mambo Chita Tann, ah well). But PCon was a blur of too many obligations for me this year.

    I also hope that in the exposition on that conversation, that people are aware that despite the standard assumptions about my appearance, I’m mixed-race. I’m not one of these white people who went off to Haiti to get religion, and there’s an entire chapter in my book about cultural appropriation, privilege, and how that relates to Vodou. (I’m not really sure, given how that conversation was parsed as it went on several tangents, but that seems important to note in this context.)

    • Indeed–I wish that people would realize more often that not everyone who “looks white” may be of exclusively European heritage. Aargh…

      But, the panel was quite good. It would have been wonderful if you had been able to be at that one, and the Wiccanate Privilege one as well.

      I will likely be e-mailing you about a few things in the near future, with any luck (once things settle down here a bit with grades, etc.), as I suspect we have much to talk about, and I have some specific questions to ask you. In any case…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 299 other followers