Posted by: aediculaantinoi | March 22, 2014

Carry Wood, Chop Water

hatshepsut temple

[Okay, so the above isn't quite the "dendrophoric procession" I was hoping there might be an ancient relief sculpture of, but it's about as close as one can get...!]

You know that old non-Zen proverb about carrying wood and chopping water, right? No? Oh well…

No matter how much wood you chop, it doesn’t matter if it doesn’t get brought somewhere so that someone can do something with it, whether that means throwing it on the hearth fire to heat the place or cook, or carving it up into something else, or making it into whatever it is that needs to be made. Carrying wood is just as important as chopping it, thus.

But chopping water? It doesn’t really do much, does it?

Today, some of that chopped wood would have been carried in honor of Attis in the ancient world in a variety of locations. That’s certainly on my mind…

However, the statement in my subject line above is also on my mind today. Chopping is rather exciting, but carrying isn’t so much, and yet that’s what must be done. Stop wasting time, in other words, procrastinating uselessly and chopping at the water, and carry some damn wood so that someone can do something with it!

[Yes, there's a huge pile of chopped wood in front of me, known as "papers to grade," and I need to get my arse in gear working on them. That's the only sort of wood-derived thing I'll be carrying in an endless procession today, unfortunately.]

And, that’s about all I have to say today…unless I end up writing more later (which I might, but it won’t be anything in great depth, just an announcement or two, perhaps).


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 301 other followers