Posted by: aediculaantinoi | March 29, 2014

When the adrenaline is pumping and the heart races…

…the doctors make you take more medication.

As much as the above can be said about any number of things going on at present, or about any number of things which are far more pleasant to discuss and to experience, the reality of my own present circumstances is that my blood pressure is still too high by the doctor’s standards, and they’ve put me on an increased dose of my medications for it. The extremely-minimal dosage of it they started me on in January made my perception of time go all wonky for a few weeks; the further increase today has made it nearly impossible to do anything or get anything done, or feel like I can do anything…and while I’m hoping that is something that will fade with time and “getting used to it,” likewise I’m beginning to think that it seems hardly worth doing to be on these meds at all if this is what it does to me at this minimal dosage.

So, I have nothing useful to say at all today, unfortunately, and the work I have to do keeps piling up and piling up meanwhile, and I don’t like it one bit.


Responses

  1. My father was put on medication for a bit to help get his blood pressure under control, at least until his new diet and exercise paid off. I don’t know if your situation is similar and the medication is a temporary thing, but in any case I hope you feel more like yourself soon.

  2. You may have to make a choice between 1) dying from high blood pressure, 2) having a life not worth living because of the medications. I hope that doesn’t happen to you, but I have heard of it happening to others. Do you have someone who can go to the doctor with you and stand up for you if said doctor is less than helpful? I sure could have used one the other week.
    I hope things get better for you real soon!

    • It’s not going to come to that. My blood pressure isn’t that much higher than it should be, and in any case, the reason they want me on the meds is not because of my blood pressure, it’s because they have kidney-function-protecting benefits that they want all diabetics to be on. In any case, I’m not doing the higher dose any longer, and am just going to let the doctor know that is the case.

  3. I went through 3 medications before the doc & I found something that would help the BP & not leave me feeling aweful. Call him tomorrow.

  4. Sorry to hear that you’re feeling so poorly. Medication side effects can indeed be a greater pain than what they’re attempting to mitigate or cure at times.

    • Yes…there’s really something wrong with the medical industry when the side effects of most medications take longer to explain in commercials than what the actual medication is for in the first place.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers