Posted by: aediculaantinoi | April 26, 2014

New Goddesses’ Arrival

…Though, I should say straight off that the goddesses who have arrived are not “new goddesses,” they’re actually quite old and have existed for a long time, but their images are new to me and to my ownership, though I’ve been doing cultus to them in various ways for a long time as well.

Earlier this week, thus, two goddesses arrived in the mail: Cybele and Artemis of Ephesus. After Megalensia this year, I felt a real need for a Magna Mater image, and so when divination finally cleared me on doing so, I ordered one, as well as one of Artemis of Ephesus. I have several Artemis/Diana images already (though not enough room on my current home shrine for all of them), which I like, but I’m beginning to see even larger differences not only between Artemis and Diana, but also between the Greek Artemis and the Anatolian Artemis of Ephesus.

So, when both of them arrived, I re-arranged one of my newer shrine areas, and now have a kind of “Anatolian Goddesses” shelf, which holds Cybele, Artemis of Ephesus, and my picture of the Thracian goddess Bendis. No, they’re not “all the same,” by any means, and yet I feel they’re connected in various ways, even if only geographically. I’ve also relocated my Ephesia Grammata to that shrine, and I plan to write the letters/words themselves on the base of the Artemis of Ephesus statue because it feels right and proper to do so.

Polytheism, eh? Even apparently “singular” deities seem to multiply in different ways, even as other and further deities get added to the mix in other ways as well.

Any new goddesses–or divine beings of whatever of the many-more-than-two genders–in your lives these days?


Responses

  1. Artemis Ephesia is the first Artemis I worshipped, now I also worship her as Despoina and Orthia mostly.

    • Very nice! Are there particular images you use for the latter two?

      • I am in the process of planning a sculpture of Artemis Orthia based on Artemis Orthia pendants found in Sparta that depict a female face flanked by a horse head on each side

  2. I too worship Diana Ephesia—I acquired her image at Ephesus while I was living in Turkey. Taking a Gaulish angle on the whole thing, I thought the Phocæan connection rather felicitous, for Marseille was founded by colonists from Phocæa and was the city that introduced Gaul to Hellenistic culture—including the cult of Diana Ephesia. (Phocæa, by the way, is quite a pleasant little seaside town today, worth a visit.)

    Of “new” deities, Sucellus, Cernunnos and the divine Claudius have been much in my consciousness lately. I got a barrel to age some of my mead in, and had them emblazon it with Sucellus’ image (barrels and all!).

    Speaking of cult images, I’ve dearly been wanting a statuette of Cernunnos that doesn’t look like an Art Nouveau–revival generic vegetal/horned deity. Anybody know where to get hold of such a thing? It shouldn’t be hard to find, yet none of the “Cernunnos” images I’ve come across cleave at all closely to his traditional iconography…

    • Very interesting! There’s an awful lot of syncretism between Gaulish (and Galatian!) in Asia Minor, with Phrygian and Thracian things, and so this further connection at some distance is also intriguing and important to consider…

      I have not seen too many Cernunnos statues that I like, either. You can’t go wrong with the Gundestrup image (even though it probably isn’t Cernunnos, technically), but if I were to go for a preferred Celtic horned deity image, that would be it…and, as it is Gallo-Thracian most certainly, that makes it even better. ;)

  3. […] this post less than a month ago, I mentioned that I received a few new divine images and added them to a shrine-in-progress, which […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers