Posted by: aediculaantinoi | May 15, 2014

They Deserve More…

After this post the other day, I thought I’d be better with keeping up on my ritual calendar lately.

Nope.

I missed Fosterage Day on Tuesday (when I was teaching, traveling, and dead-tired-but-not-always-sleeping).

I am technically “not missing” the holidays of today, but I’m not able to do as much for them as I would like, or as the deities themselves would prefer, I’m sure…but, here we are.

So, a few very short poems for each of them, I hope, will at least be something rather than nothing…I say the latter to people constantly, and I know it is important deep in my heart to “at least do something,” but likewise it feels like failure to only “do something rather than nothing” instead of being able to do all that I’d prefer to…

The New Hermes

Hail to you, Antinous Neos Hermes, the great translator,
he who carries intention to action, and joy to pleasure,
delight to beauty, and deepest love into divine grace;
on this day, may you stand between us and our desires,
and translate one into the other easily and swiftly.

*****

The Old Hermes

Though he is sometimes a beardless boy, a sturdy youth,
or a young bearded man, Hermes is never aged or old–
but his actions have been in the universe since it began.
Hail to you, oldest Hermes, you who connect all things.

*****

Maia the Fosterer

Hail to you, Maia, of the Kyllenian caves, mother of Hermes,
who is also foster-mother of all Arcadia through its father Arkas:
when Kallisto fell, you took the child Arkas into your care,
and your son Hermes became his foster-brother and teacher
in the rustling of cattle and the taming of wolves.
Therefore hail to you, foster-mother beyond compare,
Pleiad daughter of Atlas, nurse of bear-cubs in caves–
may we look to you for our protection and nurturance!

*****

Khaire Hermes! Khaire Maia! Khaire Khaire Antinoe!


Responses

  1. I had intended to cook last night so that I could make a decent food offering, but by the time I got home, I was barely able to heat something up for myself. So in addition to offering some incense and prayers, I dedicated my evening’s Latin study to the gods. (I am determined that I am finally going to learn Latin!)

    I know almost nothing about Maia; in fact, 90% of what I learned about *all* mythology comes from children’s books I read forty years ago. I’ve seen some excellent Wikipedia articles and some not very good ones; can you recommend a good online resource or resources for information about deities and their stories?

    • For Greek deities, the absolute best resource is http://www.theoi.com, which has brief encyclopedic write-ups on each deity, and then excerpts from respectable scholarly editions of the texts mentioning them. It’s a truly rich resource…

      I don’t know of anything similar for Roman deities, nor for Norse or Celtic or Indian ones. One of the best for Egyptian deities is Edward Butler’s Goddesses and Gods of the Ancient Egyptians: A Theological Encyclopedia; it doesn’t have every Egyptian deity, but it has many more of the most important ones, as well as several that aren’t as well-known, in it. (And I do hope he puts it out as a dead-trees book eventually, which I’ve been asking him to for several years now!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 299 other followers